We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great food, just felt rushed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OK Diner

OK Diner
Ranked #63 of 201 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, just felt rushed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Same great experience, just felt a bit rushed by the staff to get us sat down, ordered and back out again.

Personally I think it's the kind of place where you like to spend time ordering drinks, dessert etc. It's not the place you go for a quick meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    69
    35
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Took three young children at the weekend, for their first time at OK, and they thoroughly loved it. kept their meals simple: chicken, hotdogs, fries, pancakes and milk, my wife and I had lovely meals so we didn't pay for 2 of the kids - excellent. Good service, good food - if only we lived closer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Scrummy milkshake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We decided to try the diner for breakfast last Sunday.
The greeting was lovely and I enjoyed the authentic decor and booths.
I had the Yankee breakfast and my partner the full English. We both enjoyed our meals.
My partner commented that the coffee was delicious and it was refilled twice, very attentive staff.
I had a banana milkshake and it was the best I've ever had, so nice to have a milkshake with real banana in and not stingy on the ice cream.
I would go back for the milkshake alone.
Our only criticism was that the waitress started clearing the table before we had both finished, which was a little rude.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Would never go back!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had visited an American diner in Scarborough and it was fantastic. We knew there was a diner on the A19 so we thought we would give it a try. We were very disappointed with everything. The table we were seated at was still dirty and sticky, the food was of a poor standard and thrown on the plates, and the waitress we got was miserable, lacking in manners and rather abrupt. We will definitely 100% never go back there again!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“..the worse OK Diner in the whole chain..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arriving with a party of 4 and a toddler we were ushered to our sticky table. Food and drink ordered. No food after 30 minutes despite a pre-food order of onion rings..left with the baby in tears..tired and fed up..comments from OK were all about the wind blowing away our order..blaming others for leaving a door open..whatever happened to asking a table if things were OK..or seeing that customers did not have food and ask what was going on..behave like this in the States and the business would go broke..disgraceful..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rossmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OK Diner also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to OK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing