We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BLOODY DUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE BLOODY DUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After spending over 100 pound on a meal you at least exspect it to be cooked. I have never had duck before were the blood is running out of it PINK yes blood dripping from it no but once I informed sheiler the owner all so the so called wonderful chef she got very agressive and stud and argued "it had to be cooked because she has cooked 3 duck tonight and the other to were fine so mine had to be to " after saying this she stormded back in to the kitchen were her and her husbond carried on shouting about the holl event. As if this was not bad another when the bill arrived they had charged us for the meal that I did not eat. To sum the evening up we were embarrass , hungry and payed over 100 pound for the pleasure.We shall never be eating there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    2
    1
    10
See reviews for
13
31
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Decided last minute to have a weekend away with my husband as we were both off work. It was a bank holiday and this proved to be difficult as everywhere seemed to be booked up. We eventually came across the Ship Inn, we decided to book the larger room namely Crows Nest Cottage and glad we did. It is a beautiful and well designed property which has been tastefully furnished. The pub itself is warm and friendly with a huge choice of drinks but the star of the show for me was the restaurant. The food from start to finish was delightful, freshly prepared, tasteful and served up beautifully. The hosts are Peter and Sheila who are lovely people and very helpful and knowledgeable. As it was a bank holiday our stay involved a Sunday night, as we were out for the whole day we were disappointed that food was only served Sunday afternoon and that the bar closed at 8pm, we would have loved to have eaten there again and as its a little isolated we ended up back in Durham for our last evening meal. Had we asked I'm sure Sheila would have got us something to eat but we wanted the full dining experience and wasn't disappointed with our choice Overall this was a lovely weekend even though the weather was against us and the couple we spoke to at breakfast gave us the fantastic idea to visit Beamish living museum.. Had a great time.

Room Tip: our first night was windy and the guttering must be loose at some point, rattled most of the night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having booked (and paid for) a room one month in advance I was astounded and disgusted on arrival to be told very aggressively by Sheila (the owner) that I had no room booked. This was despite my showing her the email confirmation of booking and informing her that the money had indeed left my account one month prior. As I was attending a wedding that day it was an arrangement I did double check. So after a very aggressive, obstructive and frankly down right rude exchange of words from the owner we left for the wedding with nowhere to stay for the night and the extra hassle of having to recoup the money on the Monday. Customer service at it's worst... I would advise everyone to steer clear of this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I booked to stay as we were coming for a wedding nearby on Sat 1 June. We booked through their website and monies taken from my friend's bank account on 16 May. On arrival we wanted to get checked in, freshened up and ready for the wedding, only to be told we weren't booked in!
My friend showed the owner ( a lady called Sheila) the booking confirmation which wasn't accepted.
"Sheila" was rude, obnoxious and was shouting at us that she was fully booked. We weren't even allowed in the pub to freshen up.
On [or return Evivo was contacted and they said the payment had been cancelled that day!!
Our treatment and this lady's attitude was dreadful!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. Our room was clean but dowdy looking. We were woken up each of 3 nights by the other guests ... from a work crew.Not 4 Star quality as you can even hear the people talking in the next room.The evening meals were excellent as were the breakfasts. We tried many of the 'Real Ales" which was a treal treat for us from Canada! However, the landlord won't give you any privacy and invades your personal space even when you are trying to do your e-mails! He talks way too much about himself and he is very annoying. Sheila,his wife is a real treasure ..helpful, obliging and a superb chef.Good place to eat and enjoy the beer but woulnot recommend the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room that way you will only hear the people in one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

When we arrived we were welcomed by the managers Sheila and Peter. Peter quickly ran us through his excellent range of real ales and we settled for a pint of Roosters each which we can strongly recommend. Sheela suggested our menu and we weren't disappointed. I had the loin of cod and my husband had the curry platter, both were delicious. We were so taken with their warm and friendly approach to their customers that we will certainly be returning in the very near future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KenandDeb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was way, way too expensive for what it was, the clientel in the bar were totally ignorant, and the charmless manager actually asked us to vacate our table before we were finished our meal. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungryhoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
136 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: High Hesleden | near Hartlepool, Hartlepool TS27 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing