We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothbury Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hartlepool
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Staincliffe Hotel(Hartlepool)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norton Hotel(Hartlepool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Marine Hotel(Hartlepool)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcarter Hotel(Hartlepool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
46
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 49 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found this guest house on the internet so it was a gamble as we haven't been to this area before. It is on the sea front at Seaton Carew which is a small resort just outside Hartlepool. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. All the usual mod coms ie ensuite, TV, tea & coffee and the sea can be seen from some rooms. The breakfast was 10/10 cereal or porridge and a full English with toast and you will be set for the day. The owners, Gill and her husband were friendly and helpful. To top all this, the room was only £50 a night. Just down the road is a good and reasonably priced Italian restaurant and a fish restaurant. It is ideally situated for a visit to the Tricommelee 1817 ship and sea front museum. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Some rooms are single. We had No 1 which is large and quiet with a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999chris999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is our second stay at the Rothbury. Lovely location on the sea front and the dining room has beautiful views across the green to the sea. Breakfast very good indeed and everything catered for. The Owner's are very accommodating and friendly and the guest house itself is very well decorated throughout. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Can't fault and would highly recommend to anyone. Will be coming again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmtreepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Could not find a single fault with the Rothbury Guest House.
Stayed Saturday night April 2013. The room was. clean, the bed
comfortable,beautiful sea view. Wonderful breakfast and the hosts
Steve and Gill made us feel very welcome, will certainly stay
there again in the future.
Jim & Irene
Bury Lancs

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmym908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Rothbury for a weekend in October 2012. We arrived late on Friday night, getting there about 11pm. I rang ahead to let them know and Gillian and Steven were perfectly accommodating and stayed up to let us in. The room was clean, comfortable and cosy and the whole place has a very homely and warm atmosphere. Breakfast was lovely and both Gillian and Steve were attentive and friendly throughout, making the whole experience very relaxed and enjoyable. I have family in Hartlepool so will be back many times throughout my life and will most certainly have the Rothbury as a 1st choice for future trips. Asha & Aiden from London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

my husband, myself, my son and grandaughter stayed in the Rothbury Hotel for one night to atted a wedding, stephen and gillian made us so welcome, they were very friendly, also very accommodating to my families needs, the hotel position is fantastic, a stones throw away from the beach just across the road, and only a short distance from the town centre. The room was clean fresh and spacious, the en-suit bathroom was spotless The full english breakfast was delisious, with ample alternatives available. I would certainly reccomend the hotel to others. Thankyou stephen and gillian for making our short stay in seaton carew a memorable weekend. Anne-Marie

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barmynannieannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews