We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming hosts, good value and great service”
Review of Norton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Howie and Sue make you feel at home the moment you arrive. The room was well equipped with flat screen tv, tea and coffee facilitys en suite barthroom and fantastic sea view....full english breakfast and all at a fantastic price. I would recomend the Norton Hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hartlepool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have just returned home from a 2 week stay at the Norton Hotel. The location is second to none with wonderful sea views and all local amenities within a short walking distance. Sue and Howard were superb hosts and are always on hand with their service no matter what the time of day; nothing is too much trouble for them and they'll always go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts are cooked to suit all individual tastes and are served when the individual asks for it. Sue and Howard made my stay extremely pleasant and I can't wait to go back.

Dan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

LOCATION
Superb sea views and located in a beautiful part of Hartlepool. A Few good places to eat locally and some lovely walks. Hartlepool town and Marina are a 30 minute walk for 5 minutes in the car.

FOOD
breakfast served from 6am during the week so that contractors can eat before work. Starts later on a weekend. Lovely cooked breakfast plus toast and cereal. Choice of cooked breakfasts and nothing too much trouble. They serve evening meals during the week which you order at breakfast. Didn't try this but did see a big bloke eating one with a huge smile on his face.

ROOMS
Clean and tidy. Well presented and full of character. Again nothing too much trouble. Views were amazing and shower very hot and powerful.

OVERALL
Great trip and will use it again as I have many times. There is a very good reason why contractors go back time and time again. Rates are very reasonable, especially compared to some in the area. I have taken large groups here on football trips on a few occasions and they all loved it. Howie is great for advice and chatting, whilst Sue mother's the many guests who she has come to know due to them being regular visitors. They really do know how to look after people. Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMillerzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would recomend this place to anybody they make you feel so welcome there stayed there during this summer2012 for 2 weeks whilst working in the area.Nothing is to much trouble for the owners the evening meals are great and the place has a nice relaxed atmosphere to it will stay there again for sure keep up the good work ColinJones

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed at Sue and Howies for three weeks whilst working in the area , the rooms were clean warm and very comfortable and the food was fantastic , proper home cooked food . Their hospitality was outstanding and I look forward to returning there hopefully in the future .

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Best digs have stayed in top notch bed and breakfast very friendly made to feel right at home, look forward to staying there again, Howie and Sue were great, Sue served terrific meals morning and evening and Howie is a top bloke, rooms were great, brilliant sea view from most rooms, I stayed at the top of the house view was terrific.
Overall premises very clean, company very pleasant, Howie and Sue couldn't do a enough for there guests also other staff were most helpful and very friendly.

Jeff rangers man

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived at the Norton Hotel to a very warm welcome.
Shown to our room which had a very special view over the Seafront.... In fact almost every room has a Sea view!
The Seafront looked inviting on this warm October afternoon, so we took a short walk over the road to take in the views along the coast.
Back to the Hotel and into the shower, not the most powerful but clean and with with lovely fresh fluffy towels, before we headed out for our evening meal at a local Italian restaurant.
After Dinner we returned to the Hotel and were offered drinks before we headed to bed. The lights along the front looked lovely as well as the Ships out to sea.
In the morning we headed for the Breakfast room where cereals & juice were laid out ready. A full cooked breakfast was on offer and was served on a large plate.
Checking out, both Howard & Sue were there to wish us well and came and waved us off.
It's a nice Hotel with great views across Seaton Carew Beach and out to sea.
Definately value for money and we will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View.... he,he they almost all have one! Check if it has a shower or bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#7 of 9 in Hartlepool
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
145 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Hotel

Address: 1 The Green, Hartlepool TS25 1AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: $32 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing