We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel!”
Review of Norton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great place to stop. Really friendly proprietors - Howie and Sue. Good food, comfortable rooms, great view. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeirantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Norton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 43 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

I am not a big fan of working away these days but my stay with Sue and Howie was home from home warm and friendly, So weather its buisness or pleasure you will enjoy your stay, I travelled from Basingstoke in hampshire easy to find the summer must be fantastic their if you stop at the Norton so if you need that warm friendly atmosphere do not miss this little gem.
Many thanks to the Norton for my 8 days away.
Steve the painter

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve0336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks whilst working at the local hospital ( I am a surgeon). Super clean rooms and bathrooms. The restaurant and the main TV and sitting area is very cosy and friendly.
Breakfast was great, despite being a pescatorian and limited menu - it was filling and sumptuous at the same time.
The room was super spacious and was very comfortable, quiet. I had the room at the back so sadly no view to the beautiful sea that was just across the road.
I enjoyed every minute with the hosts who were to do all to make me part of the family and even would keep an eye on the car if parked on the street around the Green, and not in the free car park (CCTV is facing to the free car park and onto the street - so very safe to park my new Lexus and sleep at ease).
Very down to earth and humble loving couple own the hotel - very approachable,
Very altruist are the hosts, from seeing the array of thank you and newspaper clips, helping the community in all ways.
I am sorry to have gone after only 2 weeks.
A great clean respectable hotel for professionals, for romantic couples for a weekend break or even for family to come - you will 100% not be disappointed to be here at all. one of the best place I have stayed in the world. I jest not.
I do hope to hear from them, after leaving my contact details with them.
You will thoroughly enjoy the super good value priced rooms with 5* service with the traditional British style service.
Thank you for looking after me for the duration of my time there. Much obliged Howard and Sophie :)

MrT :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrT_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Very easy clean and comfortable living. Very friendly staff. Lovely homemade meals. Would highly recommend this hotel!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I stayed at the Norton Hotel for 4 weeks in September 2009. During my time there, I was offered the utmost genuine hospitality by the owners, and enjoyed the luxury of my own En-Suite which was clean and tidy on arrival, and subject to a regular room cleaning service that made my return to the Hotel on evenings a real welcome back. Meals were plentiful and of the utmost top quality. Of all the hotels I have ever stayed in, I have never had the pleasure the personal touch that you will get at The Norton Hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithDYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Stayed for a few nights and the owners Sue and Howie couldn't do enough to keep me happy. Breakfast was excellent and the views gorgeous. Everything I wanted was nearby and the place clean and tidy. It's a bit of a trek if you're on the top floor but you get that everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Ayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The hotel was very agreeable to both me and my wife. it is in a very good spot, it is clean & tidy and the proprietors Sue & Howard, were very helpful. We had a small on-suite room which was very much what we expected. The breakfast was fine with ample amounts to start the day. Our room had coffee & Tea making facilities, enough clothing space in wardobes etc. It had a colour TV with five channels. There was a sitting room with colour TV for communal recreation should you wish. Seaton Carew is a very quiet spot which suited our requirements, however there was ample beach for children to play and lovely long promanade walks by the sea, a golf course locally and some seaside amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beit_shalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.2 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Hotel

Address: 1 The Green, Hartlepool TS25 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range: $30 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing