We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, only let down by poor shower” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, only let down by poor shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Once again an extremely enjoyable stay only let down by low pressure and then no hot water in the shower. The bar is very cheap and the breakfast was amazing although I would have liked to see the usual breakfast buffet instead of being waited on

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Damian L, Thank you for your great view of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    130
    74
    40
    31
See reviews for
76
124
26
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

When in Hartlepool visiting my family I use the hotel for morning coffee and make use of the excellent free Wifi. The staff are very friendly, helpful and smartly dressed.
Though some local customers can sometimes use unsociable foul language. This is never addressed by the staff or management.
I also use the Best Western's Hotel in Brighton where I now live....and don't hear bad language. The staff I think would address such an issue.
Why is this not addressed in wonderful historic Hartlepool Best Western?

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IloveBrighton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear ILovebrighton69, my apologies for the bad language that was used on the your last last visit, we do monitor bad language and rowdiness in the bar and if the guests are too loud we would intervene, My apologies for this not happening on your last stay, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice size airey bedroom, good breakfast. Dinner very good too. Friendly staff and free parking. Nice break. Restaurants are all undergoing renovation, so this hotel will shortly have the option of an ensuite Indian Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Richard M, Thank you for your great review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Did not know that if you used a wheelchair you would have to use a side door and then go through a store room. The only other option was to walk up steep marble steps. Although staff were very helpful if they were busy then you had to wait outside to be let in and first off you had to have someone go to reception to let them know that you needed to come in or telephone the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Valerie, Thank you for your review, unfortunately being a listed building we struggle to have an alterations done with regards to maintenance for the hotel. The side ramp is not idea but is currently the only available entrance to the hotel. The steps on the main entrance are too steep to add a ramp, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having come from Hartlepool but not lived there for 28 years I'd never stayed at the Grand before however I had been there for formal dinners. We had an exec room which was spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel overall did what it said on the tin and £91 for a room incl breakfast for 2 of us wasn't bad value compared to the Premier Inn and far better than the Marine in Seaton Carew which for £70 was just too basic by far. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Paul M Thank you for your review of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

After booking online we arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening, our room was not the one we had expected but happy anyway as the price we paid was reasonable, husband did enquire at reception regarding the advertising of the rooms and the fact it was our anniversary, the staff were amazing and arranged for us to be moved rooms for the second night. We went out for the day and returned to collect our new key. Wow the suite was stunning. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help us and always happy and polite. A special thanks to Faye on reception nothing was to much bother for her.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NednBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear NednBean, Thank you for your great view of the hotel, we look forward to seeing you in the future, Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staincliffe Hotel
Staincliffe Hotel
#8 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
Address: Swainson Street, Hartlepool TS24 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing