We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Douglas home”
Review of Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hartlepool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Douglas home”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice personal, very friendly, nice rooms, food is great. If been here for a long time, and it feld really great, feeling at home here. Esspecialy the sunday carvery is very good. I will come back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    47
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
39
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Musselkanaal
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

As i work for a long period on the windmillfarm at Hartlepool (2months) my residence was the Douglas Hotel.
During this stay i can honestly say the owner and his staff made me feel like home.
No question is to much,the staff is social and nice to talk to.
Food is fresh and ready in a second.
Good value for you'r money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

In my capacity as Logistics Manager on a construction project in Teesside I took careful consideration on where to house the many staff staying for the project. The Douglas came out on top for cleanliness, friendly staff, location and also competitive on price compared to other local hotels.

I still use this hotel and would keep on using it for any future projects in the area. If I was to visit some of the many friends I have made up here, I would take my wife here for a romantic weekend, of course asking for the very nice luxury room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David197732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good place to stay ...
The hotel is fairly central to the town, but not at all noisy. Managers and staff extremely friendly and accommodating. The single bedroom was warm with all I needed. Other guests commented the larger double/twin rooms were good too! The bar is cosy, and a welcoming atmosphere prevails. Good value for money

Terrific english breakfast in the morning to get me on my way. Thanks heaps for looking after an Australian cyclist- would have loved to stay on, but the roads leading me south were calling. Sean M... Sydney Australia

Room Tip: mmm... I was just happy to get warm. suggest you don't hide in the room but enjoy the bar, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the town which was so handy for work, the food in the bistro is excellent value for money the service and the staff are great also must mention Lee the manager was very helpfull

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice Hotel you feel at home Owner and chief cook Lee Malcolm and all Staff are very helpfull.
Food is very fresh Breakfast very nice.so if you look for a hotel in this area The Douglas.
is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the Douglas Hotel for a week whilst working in Hartlepool. The accommodation is good.The staff friendly and helpful and I enjoyed the 'homely' feel. The food is tasty and plentiful.
Thanks for Thanks for everything, Lee and all staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinKooiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartlepool hotels
0.5 mi away
Hillcarter Hotel
Hillcarter Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hartlepool
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
463 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Hotel

Property: Douglas Hotel
Address: 2 Grange Road, Hartlepool TS26 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Hartlepool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hartlepool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Douglas is located in the heart of Hartlepool Town. We are an independent accommodation and have a long reputation for the warmth of our hospitality and personal attention. We want your visit to be an experience you recall with pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you to The Douglas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Hotel Hartlepool, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing