We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quantity, not quality.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of white hart inn

white hart inn
Ranked #10 of 201 Restaurants in Hartlepool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $59
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Quantity, not quality.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had lunch here after reading the good reviews on trip advisor.
Traditional village pup with roaring fire but it is a little shabby with not much ambience.
The portions are really huge, mains come with a large bowl of chips or salad.
But quantity definately over-rides quality here.
I was very disappointed with my meal.
A thin poorly cooked (but large) chewy steak appeared along with a gigantic bowl of mussels.
Strangely, a large proportion of the mussel shells were empty and
others had mussels which were not attached to the shell, a few floated in the thick bland sauce.
Not cheap for pub grub and will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peckisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    83
    30
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food shame about staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visted pub on wednesday lunch time food was exellent as usual but barstaff need to go on a course in customer service as she clearly had no customer service skills at all she looked like she didnt want to be there and everything we asked for was a bother same really cos we really enjoyed our meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ideal for a quick tea with the kids, We enjoyed our food with only one let down, I had the mixed grill which was excellent with the exception of a very cheap burger that waas not in keeping with the quality of the rest of the meat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TavistockHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“disappointed !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Everytime we have visited the whitehart for meals it has been lovely,however on this occasion it was awful...5/3/13 we arrived around 4.30...the steaks were nice the mushrooms were greasy and the salad was literally thrown together..the peppers were scored and a full half with seeds!...the barmaid was miserable and we should have complained but didnt really have time as she said we had to be off that table she gave us by 5.45...it was'nt cheap ...and I expected a much better meal, I wont go again and we have put some money in there but its not worth travelling to when we have better chefs in more local restaurants and staff that can smile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food terrible attitude from barmaids very rude and unfriendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Cannot fault the food, staff need a few lessons in customer service they are rude and very abrupt they have the attitude which is everything is a bother. shame because nice pub with a great menu

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 921shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed white hart inn also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Hartlepool, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to white hart inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing