We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Step back in time to an age of elegance and peace.

I have been visiting Frinton on Sea for 60 years and it has managed to maintain an atmosphere of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Diana T
,
Kilpeck, United Kingdom
Clean clear and lovely

Popped to frinton beach for an hour long walk along the hut lined beach. Beautiful October day... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
simon m
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 412 reviews
  
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveler rating
277
112
16
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
112
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street free parking free toilets high tide excellent beach fish and chip shop sea front tide times toilet block dog mess clean beach kiss me quick hats concrete steps fly kites charity shops pretty beach huts dog owners
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been visiting Frinton on Sea for 60 years and it has managed to maintain an atmosphere of timeless elegance and peace. So if you want a place that is clean, peaceful and noncommercial this is the destination for you. If you can afford it then hire a chalet for your holiday as it is wonderful to have a retreat on certain English summer days. When you get hungry and you haven't remembered a picnic then visit one of the many excellent restaurants in the 'Avenue'. If you feel a need for commerce and 'kiss me quick' then stroll along to Walton or Clacton. Frinton is for those of us who enjoy peace and wide open spaces. It is also worth knowing that there are clean lavatories available and disability scooters have access along the promenade.

1  Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped to frinton beach for an hour long walk along the hut lined beach. Beautiful October day , lovely clean clear quiet beach and sunshine beating down. Would recommend to anyone. Somewhere on our coast to be proper proud of

1  Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

I have to say my time in frinton could have been better if the millenials did not go round ‘popping’ so called ‘wellies’ on their bycycles and a ‘youth’ shouted ‘wagwan’ across the street and it made me and my hubby Gordon jump out of our skin. All in all smashing time
Maggie
Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxocococococ

Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Frinton-On-Sea beach is just wonderful - it’s a very shallow beach so at low tide you can wade out for a long way completely safely. It’s a clean beach, as are the beaches of Holland on Sea and Walton on Naze.

Thank PercyBlakeney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Great clean beach.,away from the busy Clacton on sea beach..no amusements etc here..just peace and quiet..lovely relaxing area.

Thank bigbarryEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Great quiet beach away from the hustle etc of Clacton and Walton.
Perfect for a peacful stroll along the seafront.

Thank Ifachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I went with family on a mildly overcast day but we had a wonderful time. The beach was clean and not very busy. The only reason I can think of is that the beach was quiet as it is in very close proximity to Clacton and most people probably go there because it is more of a traditional British seaside.
There arent many facilities, The toilets are quite far away but very clean and cheap (20p). Can rent out a beach hut from £38 at time of writing and thats about it. If you want a nice relaxing day at the beach then you cant go wrong with Frinton on sea.

4  Thank Mohammad_Shahzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Don't bother with Frinton if you like amusement arcades and kiss me quick hats!
Frinton has a great sandy beach with a large grassy area at the top to play on, fly kites etc and is a good place to go if the tide is in. Lovely town too.

6  Thank rosiem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit Frinton on the spur of the moment.

Had a lovely lunch off the high street then a good walk along the sea front. Beach looked clean, there were plenty of people about and enjoying their beach huts.

It was good to see a separated off area that encouraged dog owners so the dogs could enjoy the sea and other areas where no dogs were allowed.

It's a good plus point that there are no parking fees but pretty poor that the toilets have a fee. I did feel a bit sorry for families with a few children having to stump up a £1 when they wanted the loo. I know 20p each is a nominal sum but seems a bit petty of the council not to have them free to use.

1  Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Lovely beach lined with traditional beach huts. Great for the whole family. Highly recommended for a traditional British seaside day out.

1  Thank jwoodman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews