We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical, dog-friendly escape from everyday life”
Island cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide View of Island cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide
View of Island cottage
Friendly neighbours
Wildlife on the saltings
Lake at the west end of the island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Magical, dog-friendly escape from everyday life”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I can't speak highly enough of this gem of a holiday destination. I took my husband for a short break on Horsey as a surprise for his 50th birthday. I cannot think of a more magical start to a break than bumping slowly across the causeway towards the distant island, sunlight sparkling off the mudflats either side of the track and great flocks of seabirds wheeling close by the car windows. It really felt like we were escaping to another world.

We received a wonderfully warm welcome from Vicky who explained that we and our dogs were free to explore the whole of the island, which we duly did. It is a unique, self-contained landscape, with fascinating plantlife, flocks of migrating seabirds, 360-degree views to the horizon and an all-pervading sense of peace and solitude even though the mainland is less than a mile away. The island has its own sandy beach, where our two dogs loved running about.

The cottage itself is lovely (the pictures on here don't really do it full justice). It was very well-equipped, warm, clean, comfortable and full of thoughtful and welcoming touches like little vases of flowers in every room and shelves full of books, games and dvds. It felt like a real sanctuary with the wild February weather shut firmly outside, the wood stove blazing, candles flickering and everything we needed at our fingertips.

It's not always easy to find somewhere to stay with two lively dogs (one of whom was just a pup at the time of our stay), so it was wonderful to find somewhere that was so dog-friendly not just from a practical point of view, but also in the positive welcome our pair received from the lovely owners.

We're looking forward to going back, hopefully in the summer, to enjoy some swimming and see the island in a different season.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Xmas getaway!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We visited this beautiful cottage on the 23-26 December 2017. Vickys communication right from the start was excellent and what a lovely lady she is!
We spent Xmas here with our 2 children (5 & 6months) and it couldn't of been more magical! We arrived to a cosy, warm cottage surrounded with lovely xmas decorations put up by vicky.The cottage is really well equipped and has every little detail of things you need from saucepans, bin bags, coasters, right down to the lovely children's books and a great range of board games. My children have never slept better as at night it is pitch black, peaceful and quiet!
The surroundings are beautiful, the animals on the farm and the cottage it self. All 3 bedrooms have more than enough space and a very spacious bathroom. We were always warm as the heating was on and we had more than enough wood provided for the log fire.
This was the best place we could of spent away from home on Xmas and we will certainly be visiting again!
Even father Xmas paid us all a visit in the pictures below :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A friendly welcome off the Essex coast”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great communication from Vicky before our stay with detailed instructions on causeway crossing times etc. During our 3 night stay we walked round the island, ran round it and paddled round in kayak kindly lent by Vicky. And when it rained there were plenty of books to read in the comfortable cottage. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraThom...
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We drove across the causeway which might seem a bit daunting for some people but honestly it's not that bad. On arrival we were met by the owner Vicky who was absolutely lovely! She explained everything about the cottage + surrounding area. Cottage was spotlessly clean + had everything you needed down to board games, books,cd's etc. We went fishing, canoeing + swimming. Lots of different walks, plenty of wildlife to be seen. My daughter enjoyed collecting the peacock feathers while out walking. The owners couldn't do enough for you, a phone call away if needed. The cottage is in such a peaceful + beautiful location and I wouldn't hesitate to book this again, as we had the most enjoyable break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquie44...
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful different Christmas”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a most wonderful stay at Island cottage. The cottage had everything you could wish for a comfortable stay. Vicky and family were so friendly and helpful.
We loved watching the sheep dog herding his flock.

We were so lucky with the weather and the views from our bedroom window were outstanding.

Two of our party went fishing boxing day. There are plenty of games, dvds etc in the cottage.

Loved the log fire,
Once again a big thank you to Vicky and family, feel sure we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glewis717...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and cottage for a very special secret surprise”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Finding somewhere quite so lovely near to where we all live for a surprise for one of our dear friends was really amazing. The information provided by Vicky prior to our arrival was thorough and very accurate. The exciting journey over to the island on the first night in pitch darkness was breathtaking ...the sides of the causeway appeared to be dressed with sparkling tinsel ....the seaweed lit the way . Ghostly birds took flight as we approached them all adding to the experience. On arrival we were so pleased to find such a delightful, really warm cottage. Everything that you could wish for ..was thoughtfully provided, many items rekindling memories of relatives houses in the past.
The weather for December was kind to us...brilliant. Long walks along the beaches, collecting drift gifts and shells kept us amused. It is such a lovely magical place. Working with the tides gave us opportunities to go to local villages to visit restaurants and pubs, ample time if you stick to the guidance given by Vicky.
We really enjoyed a private, secluded weekend away from it all. In spite of being locals we felt a million miles away !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling I was totally away from it all.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattAndFa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Holiday”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Island Cottage on Horsey Island with our two young sons (4 and 6). The owners were super helpful and friendly before (I skim read the directions and then had a slight navigational drama en route), during and after our stay. Our kids loved meeting Superman the horse who was hanging out in the paddock next to the cottage and they had a great (and hair-raising) time driving the tractor around in the field. We enjoyed lots of walks under huge skies Binoculars were a must for spotting the amazing array of birds and the lazy seals lounging in the estuary. Island Cottage is really cosy and beautifully renovated, there were plenty of toys for the kiddos to play with in the evenings (GeoMag = total revelation). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was a really peaceful and relaxing holiday, we look forward to returning next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location and exciting journey across the causeway.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing