We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Holiday”
Island cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide View of Island cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide
View of Island cottage
Friendly neighbours
Wildlife on the saltings
Lake at the west end of the island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MattAndFa...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Holiday”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Island Cottage on Horsey Island with our two young sons (4 and 6). The owners were super helpful and friendly before (I skim read the directions and then had a slight navigational drama en route), during and after our stay. Our kids loved meeting Superman the horse who was hanging out in the paddock next to the cottage and they had a great (and hair-raising) time driving the tractor around in the field. We enjoyed lots of walks under huge skies Binoculars were a must for spotting the amazing array of birds and the lazy seals lounging in the estuary. Island Cottage is really cosy and beautifully renovated, there were plenty of toys for the kiddos to play with in the evenings (GeoMag = total revelation). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was a really peaceful and relaxing holiday, we look forward to returning next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location and exciting journey across the causeway.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billsuze
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight from rugged isolation and homely cottage...and Vicky!”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Brilliant. We had one of our best ever Christmas/New Year breaks on Horsey Island in 2015/2016 – and I never expected it. The rest of the family were thrilled by the prospect of an isolated cottage at the remote end of a tidal causeway; what I saw was isolation, dampness and power cuts...plus that line from the film, Withnail and I, that runs “We've come on holiday – by mistake.” I was wrong; from beginning to end, we (two adults and four children, 11 to 20) all loved it, and so much so that two of the children invited friends along for the second half – which was okayed without any fuss by our fabulous host, Vicky, who lives on the farm next door. For starters, the cottage was modern, spacious and fully equipped, and very warm. There was one power cut, I think, but we hardly noticed as the standby generator kicked in. We struggled with wifi, even with a dongle, though we could have sorted it if we'd really wanted to; the break from computer screens was good. While it was essential to have such a great base, the thrills came from our tours of the island. It was strange to be the only ones out walking; tramping along the dykes with thousands of birds for company or wandering (and wondering) about the wrecks on the beaches. I found that I loved looking across the water and feeling that no-one could reach us; watching the water come in over the causeway was extraordinary; and then surveying the causeway at high tide, thinking that we're just driven across there, seemed almost biblical! The younger girls particularly enjoyed the haystacks and the boat trip with Joseph, Vicky's partner, to see the seals. We've decided to return in the sunshine for another break, and to make the most of the kayaks on the network of canals and waterways, among other things. If you're interested, ask Vicky anything: she's open, straight and witty. Oh yes – and we were thrilled by her flock of rhea. Great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of isolation, homeliness and owner's attitude
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuzza23
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superman, Death Slide and beautiful isolation”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely back to basics holiday. Two kids (5 and 6) a dog and Mrs K on an island. Fantastic. A holiday with a difference. Superman the horse was a fantastic companion in an adjoining field and the girls kept him well feed and groomed. We walked around the rugged, windswept island and the fresh air, space and isolation was amazing. Man may very well be an island. Then onto the canoes and some dare-devil rope slide shenanigans into the water. The cottage itself is great (no dishwasher or washing machine) stocked with books, games and DVDs. The beautiful beaches of Frinton are close by in case you miss the mainland. The dog is in clover amongst all the space and apologises for chasing some sheep. Forget your glamping, fancy resorts and spend some time with lovely Mother Nature and your kind and helpful host Vicky.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roberthen...
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing break - a hidden Essex gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Came with my elderly father to re-visit the Walton/Frinton area after many holidays as a teenager.
Many times had walked the sea wall around the Walton Backwaters, and never knew of Horsey Island.
What a great experience the first time crossing the causeway. Lovely island to rest and explore and a cottage full of character. We could of been a million miles away from the August crowds.
My father of 86 said he had the best nights sleep for many years and thoroughly enjoyed himself, and gave him the enthusiasm to walk more than usual. The hosts, Vicky and Joe, were always helpful, and we are hoping to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim L
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Not sure where to start but all I can say is this island was the perfect getaway with our dear friends. Island cottage has amazing views it's very well equipped and spacious and extremely clean. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners Vicky and Joe and will definitely be returning as I now have the Island blues. So much to do walking, running and not forgetting kayaking with the seals just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadineBle...
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a location and property with a heart of gold!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It must be our 4th or 5th time on Horsey and is still the only destination we have ever gone back to because our whole family (3 children aged 14 to 9) love it so much here!!!!
The tidal island is truly beautiful with mesmerising skies and wildlife. This Easter was even more special as newborn lambs were hopping around everywhere and we even got to bottle feed some! What makes us come back again and again, is not just the amazing remote location, just 1h40 mns away from London, but the hearty welcome we are given by the island's owners. Vicky, Joe and their children are so generous and warm hearted in sharing their wonderfully warm and beautiful cottage with us, as well as letting us explore the whole island to our hearts' content!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNHQ
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An ideal antidote to the urban scrum”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We came here in December as an escape from London.
It was ideal. The weather, of course, was misty, damp, and windy - this WAS December! But we still had a marvellous time.
Vicky gave us detailed instructions about the drive across the causeway - "don't try to avoid the puddles". We got across fine in our ordinary saloon car.

The cottage is well equipped, knives, chopping boards, dishes to cook in, proper cafetiere for coffee. We shopped at the butchers and fishmongers in Frinton (recommended) before we arrived. This was a good idea as then we didn't have to brave the causeway again until we left.

We read books, painted pictures, went running all round the island perimeter (5 miles), explored the island and even had a dip in the sea. There is a shingle beach which we found to be swimmable at all states of the tide. Two seals watched us.

There is a lot of mud on the island. Our running shoes were totally soaked through. Bring serious waterproofs, so you can get out there and enjoy the special scenery, the long low views, mud flats, wild life, and the strange mysteriousness of being on an island.

We saw 27 different species of bird, including a Marsh Harrier, and murmurations of starlings. It's very peaceful and the birds came close to the house.

The cottage itself is well laid out - there's a flagstone area inside the front door for wet shoes etc. It was plenty warm enough with the central heating. Loads of hot water. In good condition and looked recently redecorated. We enjoyed getting the fire going.

We loved it. Vicky was very welcoming and we felt welcome. Recommended. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation and the peacefulness. The welcome.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing