We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal antidote to the urban scrum”
Island cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide View of Island cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide
View of Island cottage
Friendly neighbours
Wildlife on the saltings
Lake at the west end of the island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JNHQ
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An ideal antidote to the urban scrum”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We came here in December as an escape from London.
It was ideal. The weather, of course, was misty, damp, and windy - this WAS December! But we still had a marvellous time.
Vicky gave us detailed instructions about the drive across the causeway - "don't try to avoid the puddles". We got across fine in our ordinary saloon car.

The cottage is well equipped, knives, chopping boards, dishes to cook in, proper cafetiere for coffee. We shopped at the butchers and fishmongers in Frinton (recommended) before we arrived. This was a good idea as then we didn't have to brave the causeway again until we left.

We read books, painted pictures, went running all round the island perimeter (5 miles), explored the island and even had a dip in the sea. There is a shingle beach which we found to be swimmable at all states of the tide. Two seals watched us.

There is a lot of mud on the island. Our running shoes were totally soaked through. Bring serious waterproofs, so you can get out there and enjoy the special scenery, the long low views, mud flats, wild life, and the strange mysteriousness of being on an island.

We saw 27 different species of bird, including a Marsh Harrier, and murmurations of starlings. It's very peaceful and the birds came close to the house.

The cottage itself is well laid out - there's a flagstone area inside the front door for wet shoes etc. It was plenty warm enough with the central heating. Loads of hot water. In good condition and looked recently redecorated. We enjoyed getting the fire going.

We loved it. Vicky was very welcoming and we felt welcome. Recommended. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation and the peacefulness. The welcome.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie186...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was the best holiday I have ever had. Truly. The island is idyllic. Just a 5 mile walk round the whole island gives you an amazing experience. The landscape is just beautiful. So peaceful and unspoilt. The islanders are extremely friendly and civilised, giving you total privacy and unrivalled care and attention.
The real world is extremely easy to access if you wish but feels a million miles away. There are numerous shops, restaurants and pubs within 20 minutes but you won't want to go off the island unless you really have to, maybe for supplies; lots of shops nearby.
The cottage was perfect, everything you need to feel at home.
I'm hoping to back soon and often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Island
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun surrounded by water”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage, 3 bedrooms, one bathroom, sitting room, dining area and well equipped kitchen. Plenty of space for all of us (4 adults and 4 year old).
Cottage situated on an island that you can get to by crossing causeway - remember to drive through it slowly (1st gear with your foot off accelerator), low tide times are provided by owners Vicky and Joe. There is a plenty of farm animals to interact with, 3 lovely dogs which are very friendly. You can walk all around the Island, you can use kayaks, you can swim in the sea or in the lake. If you like wildlife, open spaces for long walks and picnics then the place is right for you.
Vicky was kind enough to provide us with fresh eggs and home grown vegetables which were absolutely yummy.
There is a lot of games, books and DVD's for rainy days.
Also you can drive about 10 minutes from the Island to the nearest supermarket so don't worry if you forgot or run out of something.

Overall - we had great time, I've done lot's of photos, we enjoyed every moment even in the rain. Vicky, Joe and the kids are great and will look after you.

I recommend visiting Vicky and her family and their lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners and ability to be outside all the time
Liked least: crossing the causeway
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzy E
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect island getaway”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was the perfect 'getaway from it all holiday'. The peace and quiet of the island was ideal for relaxing and unwinding but it also offered plenty to do. The canoeing was a particular hit with our son. The cottage was cosy and inviting with everything you need, especially when the British weather strikes! Vicky and Joe were great hosts and made us feel at home-so much so, we didn't want to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not having neighbours except sheep and peacocks!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays in UK”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Its one of the most unique place in England. Its a private island with only 2 houses, miles of land, sea and birds. So if you tired of crowd and would like to enjoy beautiful landscapes and wildlife, with NO ONE around, this place is for you. !!! I don't want to tell too much about this place, as its so special that you have to see it yourself. But truly unforgettable experience.
The owners of the island such a kind and generous people and its the only reason i am writing this review. Otherwise i would prefer do not tell anyone about it and keep this secret only for my family and friends . :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey...
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We throroughly enjoyed our visit to Horsey Island”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had been looking forward to our visit to Horsey Island and we were not disappointed. Crossing the causeway was the start of a delightful four days. The cottage is very spacious and well appointed, and we felt at home straightaway. Jo and Vicky who own the island and who work very hard running the livestock farm there still had time to chat to us and were most friendly and helpful. We saw an abundance of wildlife and we found walking across and around the island very invigorating. With the arable land, freshwater ponds, saltmarsh, views of other islands, and of the sea, there was such a variety of scenery. A beach area on which there are large numbers of shells is a great attraction.

On one of the days we went on a boat trip on Hamford Water, and on this we saw quite a number of seals as well as getting close to some of the other islands. The boat trips are operated by Tony Haggis who knows the area extremely well and who has a wealth of knowledge about its natural history.

We think anyone who is adventurous, likes being outdoors, who doesn't want a crowded resort holiday, and is happy to cook for themselves, but who still wants comfortable accommodation, will find a stay in the cottage on Horsey Island an ideal way to meet those needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horsey Heaven Holiday”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

2 kids (6&8) 1 husband a dog and me and we all had the best time. Victoria and Jo are the best. Vicky knocked for kids at 9am to go feed the lambs the kids best bit then off we all went on our adventures. There are loads to be had. Walking, canoing, beach combing, swimming, fishing it was all brilliant. My fav bit was watching the boys chop wood for the fire and building it up. The cottage has central heating but what the heck. The cottage was amazing, clean, all amenities top notch. Advice, take more food than you need its a hungry holiday.
We will be back!!!!! ******

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing