We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firm Favourite”

Welcome House Thai Cuisine
Ranked #34 of 127 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Firm Favourite”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The star is the food. Other restaurants may have better decor (or better toilets!) but there are dishes served here that are the best I've ever tried, and my husband and I are addicted to them. Lovely staff, who have almost become friends over the years. One of our favourite dining experiences.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quannoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    5
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A family birthday meal”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We enjoyed our meal here but I do not feel the food was exceptional in quality in any way. I would rate it "good" rather than average or very good. We ordered the set meal and the dishes were both tasty and hot. The service was very good but we would have preferred to have been left to talk as the staff were (sad to say) constantly " in your face". They were very friendly and polite and constantly attentive. Only one table was laid with a starched white cloth and the others were rather casually laid which was a shame as we were having a birthday celebration. The toilets looked very scruffy. I enjoyed it but it was not sufficiently special to return there any time soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TunbridgeWellsSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true Thai experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After finally booking a table at Montien, as it's a place we keep on forgetting about, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were extremely kind and welcoming, and the restaurant itself, even tho it felt like you were in someone's front room, was just great. Me and my girlfriend loved the food and will definitely be going back there. This place will not be forgotten about again.
Michael

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBall89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had planned to go to the Ginseng for chinese which we found out is closed on a Monday. Rather than drive home we decided to have a wander and see what was open. We then dsicovered the Montien, and although quiet (unsuprising for a monday) we had a delicious meal, and will definitley be going back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Food & Service”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My friend and I enjoy eating out and trying different places. We use to come to Montein many times but about a year ago, which became our last time since then, we found that the quality of the food was very poor. The "Pad Thai" dish was really extremely sweet and tasted of pure sugar, the pineapple fried rice was mushy and the meat smelt awful and didn't taste fresh. That's the reason why we didn't go back there for awhile. Just recently, we decided to give them another chance before we booked then again for another birthday event. However this time, the food was just as expected but this time, we experienced a very rude waitress. Lousy cook NOT a Chef !! Lousy food as expected. Lousy service not expected. Feel worse when leaving restaurant than when we arrived. We will NEVER ever go there again. It is not worth it and I feel so upset that I want to warn other potential customers what they could expect for choosing this restaurant to experience eating real Thai food and, at the same time, being made to feel welcome. Just a waste of time and money. You are better off buying a take away burger and eating it whilst sitting at the local bus stop !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome House Thai Cuisine also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Welcome House Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing