We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take out curry - really really good”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #79 of 127 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great take out curry - really really good”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely curry, did take away and didn't regret anything.

We ordered from the specials menu and were very pleased we did. seriously delicious food. Looking forward to our next Saturday night curry... We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    7
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Banana Leaf in Sevenoaks offers a great overall dining experince with arguably the best Indian food in the area and really attentive and friendly staff. We always ask if Khalis is there when we book as he is the main ingredient and we typically order whatever he recommends as that has never failed to impress.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best curry in Sevenoaks”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Without doubt the best Indian restaurant in this area and has built up quite a following. Khalis and his team prepare delicious freshly cooked food with passion and flair. The place is also spotlessly clean. Although this is slightly off the beaten track this place is well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FergalpFergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tucked away in its own back street the Banana Leaf is a little oasis of a curry house. Fantastic staff with an entertaining chef and the food is always top standard. A must try for anyone in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pecka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Sevenoaks”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been coming here regularly for years. I can only remember a couple of occasions when the food was other than superb, and both times the chef Khalis was away.

Just to vary things, we often order dishes that are not on the menu, and Khalis is very flexible about cooking them (though occasionally a new waiter might say no). What I like about the food here is that it is not at all greasy, and the sugar and salt content are low too -- just a very well blended combination of spices and fresh well-cooked ingredients. Khalis generally comes out of the kitchen to ask us how we feel about the cooking. Customers must be giving him useful feedback, because the curries just get better and better.

I like the wine list too. The Gewurztraminer and Sancerre go really well with curry, if you like a white wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Dunton Green, Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing