We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although I live in Sevenoaks, I spent 2 nights here as I had builders in, but wasn't expecting much because of having read negative reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. My room was spacious and charming. The decor is a bit tired, but I've stayed in lot more expensive hotels which were far more in need of upgrading (apparently they are redecorating this year under the new management anyway). You have the benefit of controlling the radiator in your own room, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. I also ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here, and although the bistro is quite pricey, the quality of the food lived up to the price tag. I found the staff pleasant and it's a relief not to have to pay for wifi. I will definitely stay again and am happy to recommend to friends and family now. For anyone who doesn't know Sevenoaks, you couldn't ask for a better position - 2 mins from the park, you are in the quiet end of the high street, but a few minutes walk from the main shops, and the train station is definitely within walking distance (particularly once you hear how much Sevenoaks taxis charge!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I will certainly pass your commenst to the staff.

Best Regards

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    55
    80
    74
See reviews for
40
93
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

So, just stayed for the one night, and really enjoyed it. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious - we had pork belly and lamb shank and both dishes were both generous and scrumptious. The restaurant is a little pricey, but a gourmet or taste card nets you 25% off your bill, which actually makes it very reasonable.

Our room was nice and spacious, and yes it was a little tired, but I believe plans are afoot to spruce the hotel up. That didn't detract from it being very comfortable and warm, with lots of furniture, etc. A wonderfully powerful shower really helped too.

There's such an obvious opportunity for a decent hotel in Sevenoaks to make a killing...once this place has tidied itself up around the edges a little bit (as has already happened in the bar and restaurant) I think it has every chance of doing just that so long as it can remain available at such a great price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopeGregoryIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind commentsa dn for sharing them, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for work for a week. My room was on the second floor over looking the street. It was lovely and quiet. The best was comfortable, sadly the large bed was just two beds put together, but the mattresses were good and everything was clean. The bathroom had a nice tub. Breakfast was good with toast, fruit, cereals, yogurts, muffins and some cheese and meet. The restaurant was lovely. It takes about 5 mins to walk into town and 20 to the train station or a 5 minute drive to the train station.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. My work had booked the wrong dates for me but the receptionist was very helpful and took care of everything for me.

Only negative was that the internet was a bit on and off. It is an old building and has lots of character but that also means there are a few creaks and cracks. Nothing that was a problem though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, so often this site is used to criticise establishments, but rarely to compliment them.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forwrad to welcoming you in the future.

Best Regards

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as no real choice in the town. Knew which room I wanted as that one has a good shower but it was already occupied. Room given (405) had no...NO hot water in the morning. Offered use of shower in another room, but no time for that. Told repair parts on order from China! So it was known about, yet the room still let. Given 25% discount. Young chap on reception sympathetic but that doesn't really help. If there was a choice, I would not use this hotel.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thankyou for your review, I appreciate your frustrations but can assure you things are in hand and will be refurbished soon.

I am not sure why you encountered no hot water, but sincerely apologise, if you are returning to Sevenoaks please contact myself to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Best Regards

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we arrived they upgraded our room to a suite as they said a xmas party was going to be noisy so thought that was a nice surprise. The room was situated in a separate building at the back of the car park which is fine, but makes you feel a little detached from the rest of the hotel. The room was very large, too big perhaps as it seemed a lot of emptiness there. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was okay, a bit dated looking and we had no hot water to begin with. Overall, its not a bad place, ok for a night or two

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thankyou for your review of The Royal Oak Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us.

The hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment over the next 12 months including public areas and bedrooms, I do hope that you will be be back to see the changes.

Best Regards

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found our stay here extremely pleasant from the moment we checked in. The room was spacious, warm and clean. The staff were very helpful. We were travelling with our fifteen month old and they provided a great service. The location was walking distance to the town which was good. The food was lovely, and good value for money. All in all a very good trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinthecuddledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thankyou for your wonderful review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwarded to welcoming you back to the Royal Oak.

Happy New Year

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in the Royal Oak for two nights and to be honest was dissapointed with the experience. Whilst a nice looking hotel from the outside (plenty of character), in a good location, once you step inside, you can practically hear the 70's music playing. I say 70's music because I think this was the last time the hotel was decorated/re-furbished. I am told it is being re-furbished but it is hard to identify where. The furniture and decor are all very tired and sagging, in the case of the wallpaper, actually peeling off the walls. The heating and hot water both took an age to make an appearance, but when they did, both resembled liquid magma from the earths core, and were equally difficult to control. The sash windows were nice, but 'leaked' air, let noise in and condesated so badly that the (ripped) net curtains were stuck frozen to them the next morning. On the plus side, the satff were all friendly and the breakfast was good. If you are a fan of retro 'shabby chic', then you will love this place because it has the original 'tired' look by the bucket load. Very average, barely worth the money. Probably only survives because there is nowhere else in Sevenoaks.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 'New Annex' away from the noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thankyou for your comments, I am pleased to say that the hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment in 2013, more opulance than faded opulance to come.

I am please that the staff were friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

Best Wishes and Merry Xmas

Phil Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sevenoaks
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
4.3 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
375 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidstone - Sevenoaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
6.0 mi away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
7.3 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 5 Upper High Street, Sevenoaks TN13 1HY, England (Formerly Brook Royal Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Sevenoaks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sevenoaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Sevenoaks
Royal Oak Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing