We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Valentina Fine Foods - CLOSED

Valentina Fine Foods
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Valentina's Sevenoaks restaurant is the newest addition to this charming family of Italian deli restaurants. As well as a hugely well stocked delicatessen and a range of over 200 wines, the Sevenoaks branch also has a bustling 50 cover restaurant. The family run group has been satisfying southwest London locals from its Putney branch since 1991 and customers south of the M25 are already doling out rave reviews for the Sevenoaks branch. Enticing window displays, capable and friendly service as well as a classic Italian menu, reasonable prices and authentic Italian coffee all garner praise. Dishes like Capella Romana (tagliatelle with Nonna's meatballs, wrapped in speck and oven baked, served with a bolognese sauce) utilize tried and tested family recipes and quality produce. Wherever possible, ingredients here change with the seasons, and egg pasta is made fresh on the premises daily. Slightly less Italian but no less beloved, breakfasts of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon are also very popular.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I ate here a couple of weeks ago (April 2013) and having read others' reviews on TripAdvisor, were expecting something a little special. The decor is nice enough, and we liked the idea of having the 'deli' attached to the restaurant.

On the evening we visited the restaurant was not busy, but the service was still very slow. And the food, once it eventually arrived, was neither very hot nor very enjoyable. I chose the Capella Romana with Nonna's meatballs - unfortunately, there was enough tagliatelle to feed a small army, while Nonna had evidently decided to be very economical with the meatballs that evening.

The bill for the evening, including two glasses of (very average) Italian wine, was about £40. Certainly over-priced for what we had had, and not good value.

We shall not be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pilaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    56
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised with this place. Sevenoaks has been populated for decades with the likes of "Pizza Piazza" and one or two other dismal Italian wannabes. This, on the other hand, is another animal entirely. From the outside it looks a bit similar to those old 80s offerings and I came here expecting to settle for a damp pizza and a bottle of Pinot Grigio, but one look at the fare in the deli cabinets and the wine list and it was obvious we were in for a treat.

An antipasto selection to start with then, which was fresh and well presented. And then a glass of wine to wash it down. The wine selection includes bottles from a lot of regions in Italy, which offers a great opportunity to experiment with the unfamiliar. I selected a white wine from Liguria, which was a new one to me. One taste and I felt it would be polite to check if the bottle had any siblings in the fridge. And then there was a pasta course and one or two main dishes for those not yet sated. I can't recall the exact details of the meal, as after a while we began to get swept up in the whole convivial experience of good food, wine and company. Just the way it should be in an Italian restaurant. The "cafe" style that is the first impression when you come in is perhaps misleading. There is a deli section, but you can have a "serious" long lunch or dinner here and not feel out of place.

The service is very good here and waiting staff were doing just great. Then one oaf on our table made an ill-timed arm gesture and caused the waitress to spill some of a dish she was carrying over him. Not her fault at all, but she went out of her way to help our idiot and provide another replacement dish free of charge. Very well done by her and provided the rest of us a golden opportunity to have a go at our clumsy colleague for the rest of the evening.

I will be back..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A bit different”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Unlike most of the Italian restaurants around, this is a mite different, set in a deli, allowing you to buy the produce you've just eaten afterwards.
A little pricey for what it is - but good food and good service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent meal, on the whole best Italian in Sevenoaks. Great service and authentic feel about the evening. We will return

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A group of nine of us went on Saturday (11th Feb) - the food was brilliant as was the service. The menu was slightly unusual with different combinations but they all worked and it is somewhere we all agreed we would be going back to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeches14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentina Fine Foods also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing