We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are all the staff?!”

The Crown Point Inn
Ranked #62 of 146 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great country pub with fabulous gardens, extensive menu and great drinks offers available. Please pop in to see us. The Team at the Crown Point look forward to seeing you.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If I never visit The Crown Point again I'd be happy.
We were never given menus, never told how the carvery worked (re paying before/afterwards) and then when we got the food it was lukewarm.
Very noisy function on nearby with screaming children and barking dogs all around didn't help.
The barman was nice and clearly doing his best but 1 barman for a Sunday lunch?! When all the ordering (inc. food) had to be done there?! Also told it would be a 20 min plus wait for desserts after all that so gave it a miss.
Only redeeming feature was that the barman gave me my larger roast for the price of a normal roast, which was a nice touch. (But still not really good enough.)
Clearer instructions about ordering needed, and more staff drastically needed too. Such a poor experience all round.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Crown Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Andrew B, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you for providing this information so we can improve upon our services. We hope to hear from you soon.

Team Crown Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2019

We came here as a family of 4. Two of us had the steak, we asked for medium rare and it was so over cooked you could barely chew it! The rest of the food was very bland. We came for a carvery as the website said they did it and when we went there were signs for a carvery and it was on the menu. Turns out they don't do it any more but they didn't want to have to change the menu! It was over priced and very bland. I wouldn't waste your money here. The whole place was empty so we should have known it was going to be bad!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betts95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Sadly , our meals were very bland . My spicey chilli was not spicy at all with a small amount of white rice and nachos . My grandsons burger chips and beans were luke warm and the beans were dried up on the plate . the chips were very brown so they were either overcooked in the oven or the oil they were cooked was old

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank penney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

We had a smashing lunch here on Sunday really recommended, the Carvery is outstanding. Welcoming and attentive service, at one point one poor guy was running around on his own but he kept it together, can’t remember the guys name but he has fabulous nails.
The Crown Point is slightly off the beaten track but well worth a visit, they have a massive car park and garden also.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank french1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Crown Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Hi French1974! We're so happy we were able to help you out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

Ordered chicken fajitas at a family get together, (hadn’t been to crown point for 3 years because of a disappointing experience before) peppers, onions, uncooked and swimming in oil, chicken looked dried out and old, but re heated by frying it, the wraps were so cold, my guess was they had just been defrosted. The refund was given without question, which was appreciated. I’m a little concerned about what tonight will bring (up). Crown point is in a very attractive setting, plenty of room, it could be so much better, as I haven’t been back for 3 years and now this disappointment, seems owner should either get their act together and really make a go of it or sell up to someone who will bring the crown point inn to its potential

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 3122sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Crown Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

3122sue, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01732 810669 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Point Inn also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Crown Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing