We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Nice looking building, all the staff we meet were helpful and pleasent we were given a room in one of the more modern wings which was very spacious but is in need of a refurb the beding was clean as was the bathroom but the carpet is badley stained some wallpaper was peeling off,in the main house there are some nice comfy chairs in nice old parts of the house,it wood not take too much to bring the hotel up,never the less we had a enjoyable stay at a good price .its about a 5 minute to the ironbidge gorge.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2007

We booked five nights in this hotel and paid in advance. Having arrived at teatime on 28 December 2006, we were greeted by the somewhat indifferent receptionist, given the key to our room and left to carry our luggage up two flights of a very old, wooden, spiral staircase. The room was very interesting and quaint but of miniscule proportions, housing a bed which, at best, could be described as a large single bed. There were broken lights in the dark corridors which made it extremely difficult to even locate the keyhole. Despite bringing this to the receptionist's attention, nothing had changed two days later. Having spent a second sleepless night in the tiny bed, we decided enough was enough, and approached reception with a request for a refund of the remaining three nights so that we could leave to find another hotel. The receptionist on duty said she could not understand why we were given that room because it was normally regarded as a single room and offered us a superior room in the more modern part of the hotel. Within 24 hours the toilet in this room had malfunctioned and we were moved to yet another room! Throughout the entire period of our stay neither the satellite TV, the in-room movies, or the in-room games system were working. Having sampled breakfast and seen what the catering staff could do with simple ingredients, we decided not to take any other meals in the hotel. Twice I entered the bar to find it completely devoid of customers and staff. I feel this has got to be the worst 3* hotel I have ever stayed in, at home or abroad.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank woozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

We stayed at the Clarion with friends for two nights at the beginning of May. Having read previous reviews our expectations were not high. Agree about the rooms - very speacious but badly in need of redecoration. Having said that the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds we have slept in for ages. The food however was excellent. The dinner menu gave plenty of choice, beautifully presented by charming waitresses - and tasted wonderful. The breakfast menu also offered a good choice. The grounds of the hotel are well kept although not enough seating is provided for good weather. One small tip - if you see the large Cob by the lake give him a wide berth at the moment as he is viciously protecting his family!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Very disapointing stay at this hotel. It is in a beautiful loction however it's in desperate need of renovation. The rooms are spacious and bedding clean, but the shower is either freezing or boiling, handles fall off cupboards, wall paper is peeling off the walls and the bathroom needs replacing. Breakfast is plated up [I suspect much earlier than before you arrive]and to have ice in your drinks seems to be a strange request!! The kids thought they were in the haunted mansion however sightings of people were rare [alive or spirits]. Countryside is beautiful but stay somewhere else!

Stayed: February 2006
4  Thank liveforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2005

I would love to report that the facilities and service were fitting for such an impressive looking property. Unfortunately, "indifference" is the dominant theme of their customer-facing staff (with the exception of the young and helpful staff at breakfast each morning). I had booked a Standard Room for two nights on an internet rate, so had fairly low expectations, but felt safe in the knowledge that this was a four star hotel. However, the room was poky (not cosy) with an odd assortment of tacky furniture, cheap carpet, flock wallpaper, a £3 bowl (the price sticker was still on it), etc ... The hotel advertise 24 hour room service but I had to ask for an In Room Dining Menu as there wasn't one (or a Guest Services Directory) in the room (and the lady on extension 0 sounded like she thought I was mad to be asking for such things). In summary, this felt like a Country House hotel with the luxury and character of a budget hotel chain.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MIG2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2005

From start to finish our stay was superb. I travelled with friends for a birthday celebration and was pleasantly surprised having read some of the reviews. Check-in and out was simple and pleasant. Food was excellent (whilst there I had a snack, an evening meal and breakfast). We stayed in one of the historical rooms and couldn't fault it. Our every whim was addressed in a wonderful manner (Daniel is an angel in disguise!!). I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinkerbell4023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2005

This hotel is a lovely medieval castle in a quiet, green, peaceful setting. The room we had (superior room) was spacious. Unfortunately, I now have run out of nice things to say about the hotel. The staff seemed quite clueless and 'pro-active' is not in their dictionary. It is not very clean, smelling mainly of cigarette smoke and damp. The rooms are in sore need of renovation. The bathroom floor was cracked and the tiles flipped up every time you walked on it. Not safe and it makes them impossible to clean. The bath did not look too clean and had only a hand-held shower. The hotel bar was all right with a nice view, but either no staff was to be found or someone walked over from reception and gave very unknowledgeable, slow and clumsy service. I also had the feeling that the Talisker whisky I ordered came from a cask of JW Red Label. Unfortunately, we also tried the restaurant. As a castle room, in architectural respect, it is fantastic. However, the silly wobbly chairs and lack of music really made you feel unable to have any kind of conversation. The waiters looked about 14, served the starter, then the drinks, bread and olives we had wanted as an appetizer. The starter came straight from the freezers of Tesco and of our main courses (one steak, one fish) we only ate about three forkfuls. Poetic justice happened though, because the waiters were apparently so young that they could not read and write properly yet and mixed up room numbers or paperwork - we were never charged for dinner. And rightly so.
I hope that some time soon someone will take pity on this hotel and change it into something with heart and comfort! The building deserves being enjoyed in style.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
988 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing