We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel beds ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Reviewed November 5, 2008

this hotel is in dire need of some case and cleaning! Spent 2 nights there and had 3 rooms, the beds in all rooms were awful has you could feel the springs!The rooms were in need of refurbishment as they had peeling wallpaper, cracked glass on the coffee table, scum around the taps, dirty carpet, cig holes in the desk seat and bed! Although the staff at this hotel were very good and polite, if eating use the bar menu as the restaurant menu is overpriced for what you get

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Andrewstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

I visited the clarion hotel ,madeley court with a friend , we were browsing the internet for a place to stay and spotted the clarion hotel on a site for haunted hotels . we stayed in a twin beds room in the main part of the building , it was nicely and comfortably furnished and still in keeping with its history as i hoped it would be , if id wanted modern and sparse i'd have stayed in a travel inn .although i didnt actually see any ghost i wasn't disapointed as the building is beautifull and well worth visiting . if your exspecting a shiny and sparkly glam hotel then its not for you but if like me you want to feel the true escence of the buiding then the lived in, family home feel will please you, its a perfect balance between functional hotel and a brush with the past . The staff were very friendly,helpfull and very approachable .
i absolutley fell in love with everythink about this hotel(as you can tell from my pictures) including its flaws such as chipped paint ,it only adds to its charm and i will be revisiting for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank medleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Were staying overnight as my cousin was getting married here on Friday 18th July 2008. wedding Invite said it was £100 prpn including breakfast which I felt was steep seeing as I thought block reservations when the wedding was being held at the venue would be subsidised. Managed to book via the Choices website instead and pay £88 immediately with no refund (I didn't think my cousin was likely to cancel so that's what I paid)
Had read reviews on this website before booking, so did ask for a room in the main building with a shower that my 6' 2" tall husband would be able to stand up in.
Not sure if it was coincidence or they actually paid attention to my request but we were both surprised at how nice our room 23 was. It was on ground floor and overlooked the water, very large and spacious with good natural light. I did notice there were no biscuits on the welcome tray. It was also only 2 windows away from one of the residents bars, but no one was sat drinking outside by the time we went to bed and though there were people in the bar area it wasn't too loud.
The food itself was basic and tasty. As they were catering for a wedding dinner of about 80 covers I would guess they need to keep it quite simple. The venue is definetly geared up for weddings. It looks like a stately home and is certainly an impressive building. It didn't appear to be walking distance to anywhere and with no leisure facilities its ideal if you are with a large crowd, such as a wedding and therefore are making your own entertainment.
I do have to mention the 'family' room which one of my sisters was staying in. The venues idea of a childs sleeping arrangement is a squeaky fold up camp bed with a mattress which is paper thin, dumped in a bedroom with a double bed. Apparently when my sister complained that she had booked a superior room via their website, she was told that couldn't have been possible as they don't have any. When my sister spoke to the General Manager it transpired their 3 or 4 'family' rooms were having some sort of refurbishment due to electrical faults and its a website error to show 'superior'. In any event it appeared that all bedrooms which were supposedly able to sleep children did not have beds. If you didn't get a camp bed then you had an equally unsuitable fold down rickety sofa.
My sister decided that mattresses on the floor were much safer and more suitable for their 2 year old daughter. Though I believe she did have to ask them to provide a mattress that was actually not just an outer piece of material.
I was surprised they ran out of Baileys by 10pm and didn't sell crisps either. Watch out if you want a teacup size mug of milk too. Whilst my niece wanted milk at about 11pm and a nice chap went to hunt for some, they did charge £1.50 for it!
Breakfast was fairly typical of Choice Hotels that we've stayed in. Its a poor attempt at a Hilton style buffet breakfast. Not much choice and not particularly cooked well. However we sat in the breakfast room for a while and weren't rushed.
We did enjoy our day and evening, but mainly because of the event we were attending which was a rare chance for family to get together and chat for a long period of time whilst drinking and not having to worry about getting back on the motorway before traffic gets really bad

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Stayed at the hotel last night for a friends wedding.
We asked out friend for the price of a room for the night. She said that the hotel had quoted her a "special rate" of £100 for a double room.
A quick visit to the hotel website and I booked a double room with breakfast for £63.
We all know that the "W" word puts 50% on the bill... but this is just greedy!!

The stop itself was fine. We were given a room in the main building (19) and this was fine. Hot, but fine. Wasn't the biggest of rooms but the furniture seemed quite up to date.

The wedding reception was in "the mill". A stunning old building. The only pain was the bar was downstairs and at the top of the stairs was the dance floor that you had to make your way over to get back to your seat!

The bed, after a nights sleep, was rock hard. The beer meant the sleep was good though!
The bathroom was quite old. The shower, for my wife, had 2 temperatures. Hot and scalding. I managed to get it a little more bearable. There were times when it went to scalding too... so it was kind of a russian roulette shower.

Now to the best bit. The breakfast. A hot buffet with sausages, bacon, hash browns, scrambled egg, tomato, mushrooms. Was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I agree with the other reviewers. The outside of this Hotel is absolutely stunning and it is interesting and quirky inside. However, it would appear that the current owners wish to spend as little as they can possibly get away with on the decor and fittings.

The bedroom was spacious and clean, but in need of an update. As stated above, there was no satelite television as advertised and the TV struggled to get 5 channels. There was tea and coffee (no biscuits and no vending) and a trouser press. The bath and sink were old and stained, the wallpaper was coming off the walls, the tap dripped and one light fitting was hanging off. That said, it really wouldn't take much to bring this hotel up to scratch and the owners should be ashamed that they have such a beautiful building which they appear to be neglecting.

The staff were cheerful and helpful and the hotel bar was reasonably cheap. We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu looked fairly unappetising, but the breakfast was good albeit at the lower end of the quality scale.

The Hotel room had bars on the windows and there was obvious signs of CCTV and security patrols in the car park.

In summary, if I had to stay in the area again I would look for other options, but it is certainly not the worst hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Quins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

I cannot comment on the rooms in the main body of the hotel as I was relegated to one of the wings.

The room was cramped and the heating had two settings: icebox or sauna. If you are over 6 feet tall you can, as I did, put your suitcase on the closet. If you are not be prepared to have it take up some of the limited floor space and step around it.

The shower was tiny. OK, I am 6'4" and 280 pounds but I could barely fit in it as the shower head was so low I kept banging my face on it and then hitting my head on the shower rail. The sink seemed like an after thought.

There was also a sign on the wall asking the guest to keep the bathroom door shut while using the shower as the steam could set off the smoke detector. It would have helped if the hotel had thought to put a handle on the inside of the door.

The restaurant is a walk across the quadrangle. Take your coat as it will keep you dry if raining and keep you warm while in the restaurant which is cold.

On a brighter point the food is very good albeit from a limited menu. Be prepared to wait for it though as the service, let us say, leisurely.

The hotel may be of interest to people who wish to learn what English accomadation was like in the middle ages.

All in all not worth £70 per night excluding breakfast and evening meal.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Viaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Booked this hotel to go to a family event over a weekend. Looks great outside and on most of the websites that I had seen it.
Staff were all very pleasant and breakfast was great. However, they could you little to make up for the general state of this hotel. Reception looked OK, however started to have my doubts when we started to walk along corridor to room and found black tape holding down carpets that should have been replaced years ago. The historic manor house theme is continued when you get to the rooms as the bed and bedding looked like it was several hundred years old, although the chipboard table with an old curtain draped over it was probably less typical of the period. The wallpaper was doubled over where it was falling off the walls. The facilities were not even close to those being advertised. Supposed to have satelite TV in the room, we got 3 channels properly and the pay-to-view films. There was supposed to be a play station games machine in each room as well, however no mention of the fact they would charge £5 per hour to use it (if you like that sort of thing). The taps in the bathroom were not actually attached to the sink and moved about all over the place, tiles were cracked or missing and the skirting boards had a thick layer of dirt all over them.
Generally speaking this hotel was completely in disrepair and in need of deep cleaning. The bar was unstaffed and the restaurant would never be able to seat all the guests if they ever got close to being full. I would not stay in this hotel again even as a last resort, I would rather sleep in my car, would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.0 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing