We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS JUST FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FABULOUS JUST FABULOUS”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our 4th year between Christmas and the New Year ,and each year has been better than before .The staff are genuinely nice and have always made our stay so nice ,the food is exceptional ,and the hotel is a treasure .Each year we never hesitate to book and look forward to our break it never fails to provide excellent service ,we go to chill out and relax .Cant wait for our next break HUGE thankyou to Torren ,Elle,Gary,and Joe just fantastic thankyou so much hopefully see you next year .Sue and Peter

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent there are old and new to choose from I can only speak as I find and so f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexUkGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review and your very kind comments following your fourth stay with us at Madeley Court. I am delighted that my team looked after you so well and it is great to hear that, in particular, Torren, Elle, Gary and Joe are worthy of such special mention. We look forward to welcoming you back to Madeley Court very soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    321
    151
    63
    51
See reviews for
115
531
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at Madeley Court with family this Christmas. Had booked our stay in July and had hoped to stay in one of the rooms with lakeside view. Unfortunately when we arrived these rooms had already been allocated. Hotel is very historic and has some lovely rooms to sit and have a drink. The room we stayed in was the Gatehouse and it was quite cold during the winter. Our christmas dinner was very good but it was a shame to see staff rushed off their feet. Has the potential of being a very good hotel but improvements are needed to make it better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Millward_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and I am sorry that expectations were not met fully. I do know that we have corresponded directly on this matter.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night break for our 38th anniversary. Staff superb, food and wine excellent, ambience with roaring log fires spot on for a winter break. Only downside- room 19 in the East Wing. No room for a bedside table at my side of the bed and a hot central heating pipe running alongside the bed too easy to step on. Add to that a big fan just outside the window which kicked in with a thump every 10 minutes from 6am onwards and room 19 is one to be avoided! A shame because the rest of our break was brilliant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardA678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Madeley Court on the occasion of your wedding anniversary. However, I am sorry for the maintenance issues that you have highlighted in the bedroom occupied and please do be assured that these points will be investigated. On a positive note, I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was the first time of going away at Christmas and it was absolutely fantastic. The food was the best I have ever tasted and lots of it too (we were constantly stuffed!!) and the staff were so attentive and very efficient - nothing was too much bother and always done with a smile. The Manager is an asset to the hotel, he mucked in with the staff and cleared tables and mingled with the guests at all times.

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we will be booking up to come back next year.

We have never had such an enjoyable stay and we will be telling our friends and family all about it and maybe we will come back with an army next time LOL.

Well done to you all at Madeley Court Hotel, you have an exceptional hotel because of the Manager and the staff.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Best bet is not to stay in the main hotel as the rooms are up very spiral staircases and have ropes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine Loz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for your five star review and I am delighted that your stay with us at Madeley Court at Christmas can only be described as fantastic. It is great that you have booked with us again for Christmas this year and I do hope also that we can welcome you back before in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Thank you guys for making this Christmas fantastic. Quality of food and service was superb. Special thanks to Joshua and Paul. Staff were all very professional. We had a room in the East Wing, very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a fabulous 3 day break. Keep up the good work Anthony

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am so pleased that you had such a great time over Christmas with us at Madeley Court. Many thanks for your high praise and for making mention in particular of Josh and Paul. We do appreciate greatly your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived Christmas Eve afternoon and the hotel was better than the pictures. We had complimentary wine and chocolates in our room and cake and coffee in the lounge followed later by a wonderful 3 course dinner in the historic dining room complete with inglenook fire place. We stayed three nights and were treated to complimentary drinks and snacks and we even came third in the quiz and won wine and chocolates, this was no mean feat as there was only two of us and the 2nd and 1st place winners had a minimum of 6 people in the teams. We have travelled to many countries and stayed in a variety of hotels but this has to be one of the very best. We were lucky to be in room 10 The Courtyard which was at the top of two wooden spiral staircases but it was really worth the climb! Can't fault anything apart from maybe too much food. All staff were friendly and ready to help. Trying to book again now for next year and will bring some friends too.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steep steps ask for an historic room although there is no lift so not suited f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased that you had such a good time over Christmas with us at Madeley Court. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Called with friends for Afternoon Tea on 23.12.13

Would rate as follows.

Welcome - 10/10 Warm & Friendly

Service - 10/10 Pleasant & Helpful

Food - 10/10 Nicely presented & Good Quality

This is a lovely old Hotel oozing Charm & Character

WELL WORTH A VISIT !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments following your afternoon tea at Madeley Court. It is great to hear that you had such a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing