We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Christmas in the barn conversion. Beautiful settings, but soooo cold inside where the bar is. Fortunately upstairs (where the meal was searved) was warmer. Tables were beautiful and although service was very good. The main course was terrible, frozen potatoes (not literaly), watery gravy, cold veg.
Thankfully the company was great but for the money this is the worst venue for a christmas meal. Sorry guys.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank klew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas party at the hotel. Naturally, it is disappointing that the experience did not meet expectations.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    329
    154
    65
    55
See reviews for
120
544
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

When you see it on the internet you imagine the perfect medevil retreat. Unfortunately inside my room was quite basic. Right outside my room (room 45) it was dirty with spider webs on the ceiling etc. Indoor it is a basic inn. The WiFi internet was very slow and was cut off frequently so no good for video or audio streeming but it was good for emails and free. There are no safes if you wish to leave your valuables. The bathroom was in a separate corridor and it was quite cold since the small radiator which is actually for heating the towels is not adequate on a cold night. I didnt try the breakfast room or any dining in the premises so I cannot offer any feedback for that.

What is very possitive - if you are a smoker like me and you hate not smoking in your room, these rooms are ideal for you! Smoking is not basically allowed in the hotel BUT the ground floor rooms have windows that can get wide open so if you can just lean against the window you can easily enjoy your coffee over a cigarette. Room 45 has it radiator right under the window so you can smoke in the room, blow the smoke outside withour causing any trouble to the hotel and in the same time feel warm from the radiator! Just perfect for nicotine junkies like me! I know that this is not allowed but hey neither the spiderwebs outside my rooms, so I think it is a good compromise from both sides ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manos_LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed one night and had the unfortunate experience of having a room that seemed to have wafer thin walls. This was unlucky as we appeared to have pitched up in a room next to a couple who had decided to go away to a hotel suffering from chronic croup and insomnia. The all night coughing and chatting kept me awake on a night when I had an important meeting the next day. Not the fault of the hotel, but the walls were very thin. I did not fully explore the hotel but was disappointed that the gorgeous Tudor exterior was let down by what resembled a bland travel lodge characterless exterior. The staff were friendly and obliging though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that overall your stay with us did not meet expectations.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Looking for an inexpensive one night 'stop over', en route to a country hotel break in Wales, we opted for Madeley Court Hotel - what a fabulous discovery ! The hotel is situated in extensive grounds close to Telford, but in a totally different class to the plastic, motel type accommodation available in such locations.
The historic buildings of Madeley Court have been successfully integrated to produce a beautiful hotel with a wealth of character public rooms and comfortable modern rooms. The choice of bar or restaurant dining, offering an extensive range dishes at reasonable prices will suit most tastes. Our meal in the historic, atmospheric, restaurant with its vast open fireplace with welcoming wood fire was excellent.
The staff were all friendly, welcoming and very efficient - we will certainly return for another, longer stay.
As a centre for exploring the many attractions of the nearby Ironbridge Gorge this hotel is ideally placed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMorris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Madeley Court. I am so pleased that it was a positive experience and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

None of the web sites I have seen do this hotel justice. I have stayed here several time on business and every time I go back I think "wow".
There are several "historic" rooms which are fabulous, these include rooms in the Gatehouse.
These rooms are a lovely experience, and the modern rooms are very spacious and all are in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Ask about availability of the Historic rooms if you like olde worlde
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us at Madeley Court. I hope that we shall be seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked to have afternoon tea here. Arrived, went to reception and we were shown to a beautifully laid table in a lovely room with wood panelled walls and a huge open fireplace with logs smouldering away. Waitress took our order and the fire was stoked up a little. Had a glass of the fizzy stuff first, then a healthy size bowl of parsnip soup which was delicious. A large pot of tea was delivered and a tiered cake stand with a selection of sandwiches, fresh cakes and mince pies with brandy cream. Superb service, lovely food and a real treat. Felt very spoilt and would go back again at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
I am so pleased that your afternoon tea at Madeley Court was such a positive experience and thank you for sharing your comments. I hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing