We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely building pity about shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely building pity about shortcomings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for just one night whist visiting the area. The building was beautiful very old. Check in was very good receptionist very informative and friendly. Room needed an update furniture badly scratched. Bed was hard. Didn't use the tv as the remote control was very dirty. Shower not good not much pressure and temperature changed from hot to cold and back whilst using it. Dining room was lovely pity the breakfast didn't match it. It was not the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we have left you with an unfavourable impression of the hotel. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay and please do be ensured that we shall be investigating the points that you have raised.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    321
    151
    63
    51
See reviews for
115
531
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely historic building set in beautiful grounds. We stayed in one of the historical rooms - chapel which I must say is one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stopped in, full of character but clean and comfortable also. Food in both the bar and the restaurant is well presented and delicious. The mirror on the back of the wardrobe door was rather precarious and we did report this to reception but no one came to fix it.
The staff were polite and professional but it would have been nice if they were friendly too.
By mistake we booked for room only, therefore when we came down to breakfast on the first morning we were not expected and the waitress looked a bit put out!
Breakfast -buffet style, not replenished (was very little left when we went for it at 8.15), self service area messy and not maintained. Despite there being little left we were charged an exuberant £15 each. This is extortionate and I don't know how they can justify such a high price for so little food!
Despite that we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel just make sure you book breakfast as part of you package.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the historical rooms they are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieScollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased that, with your bedroom and food quality in the bar and restaurant, expectations were met. I am sorry, however, that you did not enjoy breakfast. Despite this, I am grateful that you would still recommend the hotel and I do hope that we can welcome you back to Madeley Court.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights, lovely old hotel, stayed in the old part which was charming, bathroom could do with up-dating but clean. Food good and restaurant staff very helpful on first night but service very slow on second night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandESmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that we looked after you well. I am sorry if dinner service was slow on your first night, but it is encouraging to hear that this would not dissuade you from staying with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back to Madeley Court.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed at this old Manor House, sits in large grounds with a lake. We stayed in a ground floor room , which was very large with a 6 ft comfortable bed. The reception and all other staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a small bar, needed several reminders that we were ready for an evening drink. The dining room is splendid set in an ancient large room with 3 ft walls. Supper was excellent, service was good. Breakfast is acceptable, limited choice all set out to serve yourselves. It was warm, would have preferred more choice and hot plates. If we ever go back to the area we will certainly stay at this Hotel again. It will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Downstairs, specially if you find stairs a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we shall be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for two pleasant nights, the hotel itself is set in green leafy surroundings well away from main roads, the hotel itself is mostly an old castle with some renovations, very atmospheric and the dining room is rustic and medieval. the breakfast was superb and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Madeley Court and I am pleased that it was such a positive experience. I do hope that we shall be welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by some friends who had stayed previously Upon arrival we found the receptionist a bit prickly and not at all welcoming There was some confusion with the cost of the breakfast as we had confirmation of £8 charge in writing and we were told the breakfast cost would be £14.95. It took them 2,days to sort this out for us.
Our room was very basic and we had trouble with the bedside lights and shower water. Problems that were easily solved but could have been avoided with simple instructions from the receptionist.
We no tissues in our room, a dodgy hair dryer and the tea bags weren't replaced each day. I guess we got what we payed for because we got an excellent room price when we booked 3 months Pryor to our stay.
Although this review might sound like not picking I would still recommend this hotel to everyone.
The food and locality is excellent with lots to see and do in close proximity although a car is definetely a necessity.
We were put into one of the new wings but believe the older sections are really luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am grateful for you taking the time to high light the positives to your stay. Also, I do appreciate your observations on where we could improve upon our service standards. I do hope that we can welcome you back to Madeley Court soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a really pretty hotel and we got a good deal so I think it was good value for money. I prefer when there is an electronic key card and a fridge in the room but otherwise top notch stuff. It is full of brummies though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwatsweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.5 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing