We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hubbys birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“hubbys birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had another fantastic night at madeley court , this time we stayed in the gables it was lovely. We went for my hubbys birthday as this is the place we love to go to for special treats. Our meal was beautiful. I had the ribeye steak and my hubby had the duck it was so perfect . We shall go back again in august so we will see you then . I must say the place is lovely and so are the staff. Thank you all for a lovely night Jo & Jon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed another stay with us at Madeley Court. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we do look forward to welcoming you back in August.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    321
    151
    63
    51
See reviews for
115
531
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A glorious building that is in a convenient location to M54 and Iron Bridge and its attractions. It is 'baronial splendour' coupled to friendly and informal service with high quality bedrooms and superb levels of cleanliness.

A splendid breakfast is available at £14.95 which in my view is too expensive, albeit with an amazing selection, but as a matter of policy I never pay more than £10.00 for breakfast no matter how good it might be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelfft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments following your stay at Madeley Court. I am so pleased that we looked after you well and, of course, I have noted your suggestion regarding breakfast pricing. Hopefully, next time, we shall be welcoming you back to the hotel for longer than one night.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely 60th birthday treat .....organised by my sons....lovely old building, food was delicious, service was excellent...and you sang happy birthday beautifully....thank you Madeley Court for a special evening...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyHicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I was delighted to hear that we looked after you well and I was until now unaware of my team's hidden musical talents. We do hope that you shall be visiting us again at Madeley very soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to my friends sons wedding and couldn't have hoped for anything better the grounds were wonderful were surprised the age of the hotel 1554 the meal was great the staff were professional we stayed the night the room was nice breakfast next morning was good on the whole a pleasant time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniseandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your friend's son's wedding at Madeley Court. Thank you so much for taking the time to write you review and we appreciate so much your kind words.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Madeley Court last week; the hotel is comfortable, nice bar and dining room, most of the staff are very pleasant, food good, breakfast is better during the week when it is not buffet style. Excellent location for exploring the Ironbridge Gorge.

Before you book check if there is a function and check where your room is.

Some of the rooms in the main building are up a staircase with a rope handrail, although this is lovely as it is part of the original character of the building it would be a problem if you’re not very mobile, (not sure is there was a lift), very creaky floors from rooms above and noisy plumbing.

We had a room in the South Wing (these rooms are outside the main building through the gardens) – the room was comfortable but dark and very cold on arrival. The main problem with the South Wing is that it is next to the function building. The first two nights were quiet, on the third night there was a function, from about 10.30pm the music got very loud to the point where at 11.30pm we went to reception (outside through the gardens) to ask to be moved to another room, the staff didn’t have a problem with moving us to another room (more than one room available), a couple from the room next door also moved rooms at the same time. What was very disappointing was knowing there were other rooms available in the main building, it would have been nice if we had been offered the opportunity to change rooms that day or allocated one of these rooms initially. Some people who were attending the function were staying in rooms in the main building which meant them disturbing residents when they were returning to their rooms and yes it was quiet once the function had finished and all the car doors had stopped banging and people had got back to their rooms and stopped walking around (very creaky floors) and using the bathroom (very noisy plumbing) (about 2.30am).

We are aware that at the point of booking the hotel staff don’t know the reason for your visit and that you could be attending the function. We didn’t know this function was taking place, no one mentioned it during the 3 days we were staying. It wouldn’t be difficult for a member of staff to ask if you are here for the function and if not offer you a room away from the function room even if it means changing rooms on that day, we would have been very happy if we had been given the opportunity to change rooms. It would also have been better for the members of staff who were on duty that night not to have to deal with unhappy residents.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyelizabeth019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that your final night at Madeley was memorable for the wrong reasons. Please do be assured that we have investigated this matter as we do not wish for our guests to be inconvenienced. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss directly with you so please do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b'ham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautiful building, , lovely spot, so quiet we had the window open , no noise.
really good night, we went to the "Take That" tribute night.17/5/2013 , the meal was lovely, the chicken and veg were piping hot, as was the soup starter, lovely light dessert,
The staff were lovely, we chatted after the show to the bar staff, who told us about the history of Madeley, which has quite a few ancient buildings, well worth a look around, if you like 12th century and earlier history
Breakfast was fine, buffet style, although you can request alternatives,
We were really pleased with our stay and will be going again, our visit was topped off with watching the preperations for a wedding, while we waited for our lift. thanks to all the staff hope to see you again soon , we couldn't have asked for more love x wendy, & Maggie xxx

Room Tip: our room in the main building looked out on the lake, was so peaceful, also was down stairs, worth m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally123B_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your high praise for Madeley Court and my team. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for the 'Take That' tribute night. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was my second visit in a few weeks and I am pleased to say that the standards of service and customer care were both excellent and consistent.
By far the hotels biggest asset is the very friendly and helpful people who work in this really nice environment.
Its location is relaxed and suits both business and leisure visitors.
I would whole heartedly recommend the Madeley court hotel and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richandsueSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that your second stay with us lived up to expectations. It is pleasing to hear that my team looked after you well and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Madeley Court.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.5 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing