We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well done Mercure”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was my third stay at this property, my first was over 20 years ago when the building was renovated and the stay very nice, my second stay about 5 years ago under the previous ownership when the rooms were tatty and in need of serious refurbishment, and lastly my stay last week which was very nice.

I stayed with my daughter and had booked 2 single rooms, however we wre upgraded to double rooms due to water issues in the main building. We were located in the East Wing and the double rooms were nicely renovated and the beds fairly comfortable in line with other Mercure hotels. We found the staff attentative and service good. Breakfasts were nicely cooked with a good selection available, and dinner on our first evening in the hotel bar was afequate for our needs.

Overall a good stay, thank you Mercure for resurrecting this lovely hotel following its recent decline under the previous owners. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Telford.

Room Tip: East wing rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am very pleased that your stay at Madeley Court was a positive experience. Thank you so much for your praise which is valued by us all at the hotel.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    329
    154
    65
    55
See reviews for
120
543
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visited last week usinga Groupopn voucher for afternoon tea.

What a fantastic building and setting. On being seated in the fantastic but very cold dining room we were given some delicious homemade mushroom soup but with no roll or butter which would have added to the enjoyment of the soup. We were then brought tea and a stand of sandwiches cake and scones with large dishes of jam and clotted cream.

The sandwiches were two small fingers crusts off of smoked salmon and cucumber each and two egg mayonnaise sandwiches each. No meat or cheese and no more offered. 8 mass produced bought scones what a shame 4 home made would have been so much better and 4 small small slices of lemon drizzle which we also think was bought and not made in house. There was no hot water in the ladies cloakroom either.

We enjoyed our tea, the hotel is in a superb setting, had we not purchased this on a Groupon discount voucher the fact that the cake etc was not homemade would have grated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am sorry that your afternoon tea experience was not as hoped for. Please do be assured that your comments have been noted for improvement.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Visited here today using a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea and was totally blown away by this beautiful historical building and the wonderful setting it is in, very secluded, and exclusive but with lovely walks to Ironbridge one way and Telford Town centre the other. Fantastic welcome especially from Rachel who waited at our table, cakes, sandwiches etc.. all very pleasant. Would definately come here again, I am advised that they allow dogs in certain rooms for overnight stays which I am very pleased about. Didnt see rooms but the view from the bar over the adjoining lake is stunning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at Madeley Court. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for making particular mention of Rachel.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our booking was made on the day of travel as we had received very bad news that our grandmother had been diagnosed with terminal cancer.(she has subsequently passed on).

I spoke to a very helpful receptionist who assisted us with room options and suggested that I complete the booking online as the rate was coming up better online and that she would take care of the details when she saw the booking come in.

We arrived at the hotel after midnight after a long drive with our 3, 10 and 12 year old, who we had requested an adjoining room for.

No receptionist on duty, waited for 10 minutes, walked around the lobby, bar area, lounge, rang the bell a few more times and eventually was spotted by a night staff member.

Check in went off ok until I enquired about the adjoining room and was summarily told one room was upstairs and one room was downstairs......for a 3, 10 and 12 year old. I was very disappointed and to add insult to injury I was asked for a holding deposit for "incidentals" when I had clearly stated we only needed the room to sleep in as we would be spending time exclusively with our grandmother in Wolverhampton

I returned to our car and called to speak to the duty manager (who appeared to be standing outside smoking a cigarette as opposed to attending to guests). She was just as unsympathetic and unhelpful.

I wrote to the duty manager the very next day as I had to then (at 1am in the morning) seek a new hotel with adjoining rooms with upset children and a disparing wife.

What did I get from the Manager ...initially defence, then a half hearted apology and a charge against my credit card for each room for 1 night.

In further correspondence received on the matter I was told that an error was made by the night staff and that the rooms were in fact adjoining........they still took the payment.

Make a booking at your peril; times must be hard when you cannot adhere to what was agreed telephonically, booked online and confirmed via telephone afterwards only to arrive to staff that do not know what is happening.

Room Tip: We wishing to get rooms.....did not quite get that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doha_Resident_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your experience. I know that time has lapsed since, however, if you would like to discuss directly, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a 'Murder Mystery' event hosted by the hotel. The room rate may be have been a special for bed and breakfast at £68 tied in with that event but I dont think the rates vary that wildly from what we paid.

The standard double room we had was clean and the bed very comfortable. They are not alone in only having one bath towel available, why do hotels do this when they know they have two guests staying? The food in the evening was very pleasant and plentiful, and all the staff friendly and polite. The buffet breakfast was on a par with that you would find at a premier inn.

I would have rated as excellent but for three small things; the car park had failed to be cleared of ice, although the pathways had, and it made the walk across it very difficult especially, for ladies in high heels, when we entered our room it was freezing cold as no heating had been turned on ( electric heaters in the South wing, so it was only a flick of a switch ) but it did mean it was too cold to shower first as we would have liked and finally we were overcharged nearly £8 for a drinks order at the bar but offered no apology or a reason as to why we had been.

However none of these would prevent me from returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealjasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at Madeley Court. Your constructive comments on improvements are also appreciated.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

just visited this place for an afternoon tea while visiting the area,well worth the money as a treat if you are in the area it is an old court building so dont expect modern decor everywhere it cant be done,as others say food is great and the staff very pleasant and nice ,nice couple of hours on a snowy afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overworked63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea at Madeley Court Hotel.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting, down a short lane through trees to the Hotel. The building is old but as you enter the interior is very tastly decorated which is both warming and inviting. The staff are very attentive and I was quickly booked into my double room. It was spacious, warm and very well maintained.
The restaurent served excellent food from a varied menu, including vegetarian. The service on the second night was a little slow but I put that down to the weather and a member of staff was missing.
Breakfast was plentiful and the waitress was very pleasant to all guests.
A truly enjoyable stay at a time when the weather was inclement to say the least.
I will be staying again when in the area on business. It would also be an ideal place to stay as a base for a short break in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms numbers 29-32 are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Madeley Court.
Regards,
Anthony Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
919 reviews
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing