We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I had a lovely afternoon tea at Madeley Court. The service was very good and the food - especially the scones, was gorgeous. Perhaps only slight criticism was the choice of sandwiches served - half of them were smoked salmon and I don't eat fish, but the egg mayo sandwiches went down well! Endless coffee was served by a very friendly waitress... Will definitely be doing afternoon tea there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello and thank you for your generous comments regarding your visit to us for afternoon tea.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    334
    154
    66
    56
See reviews for
120
547
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Madeley Court for a Christmas party and quite frankly they seemed totally out of their depth.

We were booked for a works Christmas party and as we lived quite far away thought we would take advantage of the special room rate for party guests. On ringing to book a room my partner was told it would be £118, he explained that he was told he would get a special rate as a party guest and was told that was the special rate price. After going back to our party organiser we were given the name of a member of staff to talk to and managed to get the room for £68.

We struggled to find the hotel in the dark as the sign was dark coloured with small printing and no lighting. When we eventually got inside we had a half hour wait to check in as the receptionist really struggled to book in a party of 6 people who had booked 4 rooms (this would have been easily sorted if she'd checked the computer and saw there were 2 single occupany rooms at the beginning not after 20 minutes of confusion). By the time she got to us a 'sorry for your wait' would have been nice but no such courtesy was given.

The room was ok (room 5) apart from the huge damp patch in the wardrobe, the plaster cracking (lumps of plaster just left there) in the bathroom, the cobwebs on the windows, chest of drawers with handles missing, coffee ring stains on the shelf and the boiling hot temperature (so hot we slept with the windows open). I did put the condition of the room down to it being 'character' but quite frankly all could have been easily remedied.

Must say the party was enjoyable but listening to other people the next morning the parties in the main hotel party suite were not so lucky.

Going down for breakfast the next day we experienced even more waiting. There were no tables in the main dining room. There were empty tables but had not been cleared as staff were too busy. We ended up sitting a a small room near the reception. We queued for the buffet breakfast but there was nothing left (it was about 9:30!!). We waited for more to be brought out while a large queue formed behind us. In the end we asked a rather flustered young man if any more food would be coming. After another 10 minute wait food was brought out. We then had to ask for plates, and glasses for juice, oh and juice to be filled. Back at our table no-one came to ask if we wanted coffee/toast. I went in search of a member of staff, on eventually finding one and asking for coffee I was told 'there a wait on coffee' she didn't ask where we were sitting or what we wanted. We had finished our food when we were finally asked if we wanted any drinks, we were brought tea instead of coffee, we eventually got coffee but no milk arrived so we drank it black. Must say though the breakfast was very tasty and the restaurant staff were all pleasant but they were run ragged as the restaurant was grossly understaffed. They also seemed inadequately trained.

Went to pack up and experienced another 15 minute wait to check out as once again only one receptionist on (no 'sorry for your wait' again). After paying over £120 for two, for the room and party, I would have like to have complained to the manager but this would have meant more waiting as people were queuing to speak to him....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisalew73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

All of our staff go through a concise induction and training program during there first few week, but as i am sure you will understand we all have to start somewhere.

Once again thanks for your comments

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just back from a two night stay and overall a very nice visit. All the staff very helpful and Abbey in the restaurant especially so, nothing too much trouble for her. Food very good but lack of local ales not very good in an area noted for serving local produce plus what is on offer is a bit highly priced.
Will be staying here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berryman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. We really do appreciate such positive comments and i shall pass them onto my team

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

ive stayed here before and ive had better stays, its a beautiful old building it has the potential to be wonderful BUT........you wait for ever at the bar, its cold really cold. We (my friends and husband and I ) were put in a side room off the main dinner hall , no fire no heat not really good enough and the staff are just too busy. Having said that the food is good and it just needs to be managed properly to be great. We were served by a young lad who was brilliant but i just got the feeling no one is being managed there is no direction.

Room Tip: ask for a creepy old room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We were surprised regarding your comments as we often use the private Dining Room for certain guests who prefer this room.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent a very pleasant time yesterday having Afternoon Tea at this beautiful Hotel. Sat next to a roaring log fire we enjoyed very tasty home made Tomato and Red Pepper Soup, a selection of sandwiches, scones with lashings of clotted cream and jam, and lemon cake. A glass of Prosseco and limitless tea and coffee completed a most relaxing interlude.
Amy, our waitress, was attentive without being intrusive and we thank her for sharing her very interesting knowledge of the house and its history.
We highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments from your visit to Madeley Court.

Look out for more offers soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friends and myself had a lovely afternoon at this beautiful hotel....with beautiful surrounding''...we we're served our afternoon tea by a very friendly waitress called Rachel...it was excellent value for money! we purchased this deal through groupen....and it's well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy123566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi and thank you for your positive comments regarding your visit.

Look out for more offers soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for one night and took dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The service in the restaurant was excellent (waiters Jacob and Abae were very friendly, helpful and efficient) and the food was splendid.

The room was less good. We'd paid extra for an upgraded room but there was little to show for it - just a coffee maker I think. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been and the lack of an extractor fan meant condensation and staining. The temperature regulation was minimal - over warm at night. Only one set of towels in the bathroom and reception staff had to be approached twice to get ths sorted.

It would have been fine at a lower price but for what we paid it was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prune-Etna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello and thank you for your comments. We were disappointed to read that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay.
Our executive rooms are larger rooms with either Lakeside or courtyard rooms. They also come with dressing gowns, slippers to take away, fruit, Nespresso coffee machine, mineral water, chocolate bar and free newspaper. We also keep spare pillows and towels in the wardrobe for all customers.

Once again thank you for your comments

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
14.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing