We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average pub”

The Eric Bartholomew
Ranked #15 of 120 Restaurants in Morecambe
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Not always the cleanest place to eat, food is good but as this is primarily a pub, you could end up eating within a noisy environment.
There are special nights of various types of food which is good, service is ok but can lead to taking the queue to order food at the bar.
Situated within Morecambe shopping centre close to car parking and other shops.
We'll worth a visit.

Thank maddog190462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMMA L, Manager at The Eric Bartholomew, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your fair comments. We do have an issue with people queuing at the bar at peak times which is why we have devised our 'coffee collection point' to assist in speed of service, but we understand that even this sometimes does not keep our queues down. We are also sorry to hear about the hygine issues you have picked up on your visit(s), we do ensure all our staff and management carry cloths and sanatiser bottles in they're aprons when working the floor, and if you ever have any concerns then please speak to a memeber of staff who will be happy to assist in any way they can. Thank you again for pointing out these issues, and we will make them key points for our staff to focus on, but on the whole, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit(s) and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 512 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a beautiful pub, however during busy periods they struggled to get food orders out. We had to wait a full hour for our food and when it arrived it was disappointing. Although the staff where apologetic, if you wait an hour you expect good food at the end of your long wait.

Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMMA L, Manager at The Eric Bartholomew, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us on your visit. We do make our food delivery times a priority and we will be putting changes in place to help us get your lovely hot food out to you in a resonable time over these busy summer months. If you wish to discuss your personal experience further, please do not hesitate to contact the pub and speak to any member on the management team and we will be happy to help. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

There are Wetherspoons and then there are Wetherspoons, and we felt this was a good one.!!
We found the meals were excellent value and the service was very quick.

Thank jert1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMMA L, Manager at The Eric Bartholomew, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

We would like to say thankyou for the comments about your recent experince you had with us. As a pub we strive to make sure that all customers get our 100% focus and attention and that the customers always have a pleasant experience with us.
As a company aswell we are always looking at giving the customers the best value for money with all our club deals,Deli deals and afternoon deals. We will be having a new menu launch in october with new products on the food and drinks menu and also we will be having our real ale festival from October 17th aswell.
We hope you continue to visit us at the Eric Bartholomew again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

although a chain pub the food is a good standard and they sell real ale its that good i have a phone app so we can go wetherspoons wherever we are for a meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMMA L, Manager at The Eric Bartholomew, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

We thankyou for the comments on your recent visit to us. We aim to make sure that we give all our customers a great experience and feel they have had good value for money.
We will continue to provide good value for money and standards with our great club deals we have on all week,Beer and burger deals and deli deals 12-3pm.
We will also be having a new line of products for sale from october with the launch of our new food menu and also we will be having new products on draught aswell. We hope you continue to use our facilities and enjoy your visits with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Called here for a meal and chose the Sunday dinner option at about 6pm. What a let down. Very poor meat and the veg was almost inedible and very small portion as well. Granted it had been a busy da but no real excuse.

Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMMA L, Manager at The Eric Bartholomew, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

We would like to apologise for the recent visit you had in the pub and we would say that as a pub/company we always strive to maintain 100% standards at all times. We have made sure that this sort of thing doesn't happen again and all kitchen staff have been told how we expect all meals to come out all day everyday. We hope that you visit us again and we promise as a pub that your experience will be spot on.
All staff have been told how we expect food to be presented so this incident doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eric Bartholomew also viewed

Morecambe, Lancaster District
Morecambe, Lancaster District
 

Been to The Eric Bartholomew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing