We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault!!!”
Review of The Craigwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Craigwell
Ranked #9 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could not fault!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The view from our room was gorgeous and very well presented. The whole place was spotless and showed care and both for both appearance and catering for every need of the guests. I really enjoyed the freshly cooked to order breakfast which was all locally produced and not mass produced processed rubbish!!

This B&B is also very pet friendly and perfectly positioned for some lovely walks and also close to all amenities required for a pleasant stay.

I will definately use this B&B again in the future as it is excellent value for money in every aspect.

Room Tip: If it is available pay the small amount extra for the sea view rooms it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
72
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I arrived for a night on Monday 04th June with my Wife Adele, having left the Nice & Sleazy Festival in Morecambe after camping for 4 days. We was going to camp for another day at the festival but the security had gone from the site and toliets had been removed, and local children were taking tents that were left and we felt unsafe to stay another night. It was getting late so we decided to stop the night in Morecambe. We was going to stay at the local Travel Lodge in Morecambe, but i prefer to stop in a local bed and breakfast to support the local area. The local taxi firm suggested us try the Craigwell after getting refused by other bed and breakfasts in the way i was dressed after leaving the festival,but the taxi driver said they should be happy as you are paying. On arrival we was made to feel more than welcome. The lady who runs the bed and breakfast went out of her way to check us in promptly and told us both the breakfast serving times and kindly took us to our room. We was more than happy with our room, The sea view was amazing and it was a nice and sunny day on arrival. The room was spacious and very clean and had plenty of teas and coffees and a nice comfy double bed. My wife Adele was looking forward to having a nice hot shower as we both been camping for the last 4 days without a shower. The room had everything you need for a stopover. Shower Gel,Mineral Water,Breakfast Bars,Teas,Coffes,Hot Chocolate,Orange Juice,Soap Bar,Hand Soap,TV,Raditors,Recycle bag. If u need a iron. You can borrow one from reception along with a Ironing Board, and the room and recycle bag for your used plastic,cardboard packaging.
The location was ideal and there was a local chinese restaurant and several bars near by, and a gala bingo. The Breakfast in the morning was excellent. There was plenty of toast white and brown bread, plenty of tea. The gentlemen who serves breakfast was very chatty and made us feel welcome. The sausage and bacon for breakfast was excellent and was nice to know they use local produce and informed leaflet telling you where they get there produce from.
Price for room was very reasonable and we would definately stop in the Craigwell again if we are in Morecambe, may stop next year if we go to the Sleazy Festival, Thanx for having us and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Get A Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpoolmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have been in The Craigwell Hotel this weekend. Room was small but very nice and cozy. We had an en-suite in our room. The owners was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and good selection. Everyone can found something for himself. I would recommend this charming hotel for anyone. With animals especially.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinaiPawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I only stopped for one night but it was part of a special trip away and wanted somewhere really nice to kip and have a good cooked breakfast and the Craigwell did not disappoint ! The room was absolutely spotless and the bed was lovely and comfy, whilst the full English breakfast was possibly the best I've had in a BnB, generous portions and again faultless. I didn't meet the owners as they were away but their deputy Ray was ultra friendly and helpful and of course repsonsible for my early morning feast !! Great view of the coast to wake up to, looking across to the South Lakes mountains, if there was one negative it was that the hotel was in Morecambe which proved to be an incredibly dull place on a Saturday night - but that's not there fault !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitetimeneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigwell, Owner at The Craigwell, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Craigwell and that Ray looked after you so well. Sorry you found the resort a little dull for a Saturday night. If you come again you could try Lancaster's lively city centre which is just over 2 miles away - there's a wealth of bars, clubs restaurants, theatres and nightclubs. Morecambe can be a bit lower key but in its defence - most summer weekends are pretty busy with about 20 different festivals and there are some good pubs and restaurants. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had a long weekend over the easter period, we had a room on the 1st floor with lovely views over the bay, the tea, coffee, juice, biscuits ect in the room was very welcome, room was kept spotless, but it did take me a while to get used to the noise the saniflo toilet made, but thats just me! Breakfast was very good, loved the smoked salmon and scambled egg, thankyou Gill. Morecambe it`s self is very run down, not what it used to be, which is a great shame, but we found something to do on a wet and windy weekend. this b&b would make a great base for exploring the surrounding area`s as it`s a very welcoming and friendly place to stay.
Thankyou for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: A sea view is a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Craigwell at Easter 2012. We were in a room on the top floor and had a wonderful view of the sea and mountains. The room was a good size and had a very comfortable bed. We had a seating area to look at the view with tea and coffee facilities. The breakfast had a good choice and was very tasty. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The location of the guest house is ideal for the South Lakes area and there is plenty to see and do. The guest house itself was immaculate in presentation and very clean. We liked the decor especially in the breakfast room. It is one of the best guest houses we have stayed in on our travels around England and we will definitely stay here again when we next visit the area. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on top floor with wonderful sea and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just stayed here for a night. Swift, early check in. Room was fresh and the whole B+B was immaculate and clean. Great breakfast and easy check out. Ideal for beach walks and access to town centre. Dog friendly too so our dog got a holiday. Would definately recommend. Would stay again. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Yacht Bay View Guest House
Yacht Bay View Guest House
#4 of 25 in Morecambe
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craigwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigwell

Property: The Craigwell
Address: 372 Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Craigwell 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigwell is now graded a 4 Star Guest House with Enjoy England, one of Morecambe Bay's premier accommodation properties offering great value bed and breakfast. Winner of the Breakfast award for the last 2 years! Ideally situated for those wishing to explore Morecambe, Lancaster and The Lake District. Five of the luxurious bedrooms have views over Morecambe Bay, towards the Cumbrian Mountains. All rooms have central heating, tea/coffee making facilities, Flatscreen digital Freeview TV/radio, fluffy white towels and extremely comfy beds. Free private or on-street parking. Walkers and Cyclists welcomed and cycle storage available. Gold Award members of the Green Tourism Business Scheme. Gill and Jim offer a warm, friendly and inviting atmosphere in which to relax and enjoy your Morecambe holiday.Dog friendly - please enquire. Non-smoking throughout. Which? Good Bed & Breakfast Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Craigwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigwell Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing