We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, great staff,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hurley Flyer

The Hurley Flyer
Ranked #59 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food, great staff,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

ate here on 03/12/13 early lunchtime, waited minutes for drinks and probably only 5 minutes for food, two for one offers are fabulous. great tasting food in a friendly, well staffed clean environment. particular thanks to Vanessa and Sam for their service. will absolutely be eating here again and recommending this to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    125
    99
    54
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mayve caught them on a bad night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from meal. Arrived 6ish 1st August for a drink and sat outside in the sun whilst we awaited the arrival of another member of our party. Ordered around 6.30 and waited until 7.15 for our food to arrive. The pub was not busy on our arrival and we were not told of any long wait so 45 mins seemed excessive. Two of us out of 4 ordered starters but a ham and pineapple salad ordered as a main was brought out with said starters with no explanation. The waiter obviously assumed we would find our own cutlery as he wandered off without supplying this. I went to the barman who had neglected to advise of the waiting time and said we had a main with the starters a 45 min wait and no cutlery. He was apologetic and arranged for our main course to arrive swiftly. There appeared to be a manager in a blue shirt dishing food out and there was a young girl with a pink blouse with a clipboard appearing to try and organise proceedings indoors but both seemed oblivious to our poor service. I found the food average. It wasn't particularly filling and given our wait didn't do anything to diminish my disappointment. Okay on value but I would suggest avoiding the cattlearkey and going to a restaurant or picking up a take away over this place. When you dine out it is primarily to help you relax after work and enjoy a good service and some hearty food but I was disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wickedwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived about 5:25 on a Monday in the summer holidays, so we expected it to be busy, we got a table straight away, and the waiter we had was polite and good mannered, he made sure that we enjoyed our meals, When we ordered the drinks they arrived quickly, and so did the food which was both hot and delicious. The restaurant was clean and tidy. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We thought we would try The Hurley Flyer as friends had recommended it. We walked in and saw it was busy, but it was a Sunday afternoon. We found a table close to the door, a quiet place as my son doesnt like busyness or noise. We were then told 'we dont take food orders on that table today'. The tables next to it and surrounding were eating their Sunday dinner at that moment! We then went to look for another table and were told the same, with that we walked out and went elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank samantha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food in a new pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived at midday Thursday not many customers in, our drinks order taken and delivered to table in minutes. Our two meals and side order were also quickly on the table both hot and generous portions.The staff we talked to liked the electronic ordering system they use, it seemed efficient when quiet. Being new the place was clean and in good order but as one reviewer commented there are only two disabled bays we used one and it was tight to reverse out of. I imagine the Flyer will have busy times, it is next to the football ground! We called in passing and if it is quiet will definitely go again as with many places if its too busy don't use it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank partygoerLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurley Flyer also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Hurley Flyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing