We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Passage of Time..

Superb book shop, my visit today was one of many over the years, but will frequent more do to the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Ashley W
,
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Super bookshop in Morecambe

This bookshop is brilliant, the range and amount of books are stunning. You can find just about... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
r0selle6
,
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Read all 62 reviews
  
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
42
15
0
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
15
0
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love books book shop aladdin's cave floor to ceiling book shelves helpful owner every nook and cranny treasure trove couple of hours well worth a visit maze thousands browsing gems tidy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Superb book shop, my visit today was one of many over the years, but will frequent more do to the number of 'good quality' Stephen King novels available.. Very good pricing I must add, after-all, the location is great, as it's only a 10 minute train ride from Lancaster.
Books for all ages and those seeking quiet time to ponder over what is out of view on the high shelving. Did I miss a gem of a read?
Every corner turned, volumes of books and it's always a pleasant surprise to find a fellow reader randomly obscured by the shelving in one of the shops many recesses.
The owner leaves you in peace, but will find time to chat if approached, today he was building more book cases for yet another room that will be undoubtedly be filled floor to ceiling with wonderful books.
Walking in from the promenade, to view a cascade of books, the smell of ink on paper never deters, just becons any reader to enter.
The Old Pier Bookshop to me, is the new Narnia!.

Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This bookshop is brilliant, the range and amount of books are stunning. You can find just about anything here. There are plenty of people who browse amongst the range of titles to find something that interests them and you can certainly find that here. Like most bookshops browsing is the best way to find things.

Thank r0selle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Going in to the shop gave me the same open mouth in amazement feeling, as going in to toys’r’us as a kid. The smell of the books is gorgeous. People have made personal comments on the dress sense of the owner but why does that matter? He is incredibly polite, friendly and knowledgeable about what he’s got stockwise. Well worth a visit to spend a couple of hours wandering around

Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

When I visit this bookshop it is usually to find Theological works or English, but if you don't mind a bit of dust and the absence of central heating and climbing through stacks of books, and you are the kind of person who buys books for the content and not the bindings, this is the bookshop for you. Be warned! it will take more that a 10 minute visit, because the shop is more like a cross between a maze and book warehouse, and once you start looking for something it can be some time before you emerge from this book cave. You never know what you might find. Well worth a visit!

Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This book store was only a couple of minutes away from our hotel, so I decided to have a look round...Wow.... When I went in I was amazed at the amount of books. There were thousands. Definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Every year for the past 10 years I ave made it my aim to visit here while on holiday, so much so that now my teenage kids love coming here also. It has so many twisty cavers and turns in its billions of books that when they were little they would play hide and seek, now they are avid readers and appreciate books.

I have bought dozens of books every year as has my wife and it is now a family traditon to visit all the way from Scotland. Great owner who is quirky and always happy to help.

Love it love it love it.

See you next year :-)

Thank pastorgaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

We discovered this little gem after a walk along the seafront & spent a couple of hours poking around in this jam-packed treasure trove of books. It’s unusual to find such a classic old bookshop, & definitely worth fitting it into your trip.

Thank LozokinIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

This has to be the most amazing book shop for miles around.
Books floor to ceiling is not a exaggeration. Every available space in this shop has been used including the floor.
Give yourself plenty of time if you visit.
Not really suitable for wheelchair's due to very narrow aisles, but I'm sure the owner would be very happy to help you find a particular book.
Off street parking is a bit limited, but there are pay and display car parks nearly opposite on the seaward side of the road.

Thank FileyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

We visited this book shop to browse, and spent a long time there while Moody Blues music played in the background. Eventually bought two inexpensive books, one of which I re-read. A bookshop to explore.

Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

We had American friends visiting and saw the store as we drove by and asked if we could call in.
They said it was one of the best.

Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews