We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quality”
Review of The Royal Bar

The Royal Bar
Ranked #17 of 112 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The newly refurbished Royal Bar and Hotel. A family friendly seafront bar with a wide range of fine wines and cask ales. We also offer a fantastic food menu. All food is homemade by our head chef Roy Curragh. Come and join us in our elegant upstairs dining room with spectacular views overlooking Morecambe Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for tea with the wife and another couple. The food was very reasonably priced and was delicious. They had a great range of drinks also at great prices and a fantastic view over the bay.
Recommend and will use again.

Helpful?
Thank Astradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, Lancs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, staff not friendly”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a meal here as on previous visit it wasn't bad but slow service. Cheese pie was runny and could not believe they brought us cremated chips, I would rather have waited longer for a good batch. At no time did any staff ask us how our meal was. As a pub and for drinks it is good however do not recommend eating here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great music and weekend”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A Good atmosphere in a pub with a feminine touch.
There are roses on the table and the staff are obliging and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Should be amazing”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went over to Morecambe as it was a sunny day and its brilliant with nice weather. Started at the Midland then visited the Royal and ended up at the Palatine. You can see what this pub is trying to do its going for nice people. The choice of drink was great with a selection of hand pulled beers from mainly local breweries. The inside looks very pretty high ceilings, nice coving and all that. The problem was the music was far too loud and they were catering for people who didnt seem to fit into the pubs feel. I dont want to be snobby here but there was so much swearign and shouting that we only had a half pint and left. Im sure they were good drinking customers and put a lot of money in the till but it needs to decide if it wants to be a "nice" establishment or an old fashioned rough 'n tumble boozer. It cant be both.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Can,t fault anything..The food we ordered came on hot plates & was very tasty. Service was excellent from all the girls. Nice & clean with a fantastic view.When we go again we will book a table in the window.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eileenwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Bar also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Royal Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing