We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good menu, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Bar

The Royal Bar
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The newly refurbished Royal Bar and Hotel. A family friendly seafront bar with a wide range of fine wines and cask ales. We also offer a fantastic food menu. All food is homemade by our head chef Roy Curragh. Come and join us in our elegant upstairs dining room with spectacular views overlooking Morecambe Bay
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good menu, good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

a very ood menu in a nicely done pub. the chef is excellent. great views over the bay from upstairs menu. Morecambe needs more of this type of place

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jumblestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in Cockle Bay Cottage just minutes away so we popped in here regularly sometimes for a drink and sometimes for a meal, staff always friendly, and food really nice, a bit more special than the usual pub grub. Would recommend

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pepsiwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“B&B stop in Febraury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Royal on Sat 23rd for a football weekend. When I booked I was a bit hesitant as, for a single room. it was £25 for the night - They don't do breakfast and it's off-season but still remarkably cheap. It said refurbished so I thought - why not. I was pleasantly surprised. I did get a double room and it had it's own bathroom with shower and was well decorated throughout. Tea/coffee in the room, TV, large wardrobe. They'd done a good job and very good vfm. If you want breakfast then cafes around and a Wetherspoons 50 yards away around the corner. You're also virtually opposite the Eric Morecambe statue. No car park but not really a problem in winter as on road parking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scowling regulars = not feeling very welcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I went in for some tea about 8pm the night when a band were supposed to be playing- Friday I believe....for about 30mins we were the only people in the whole place! Then some regulars came in, in particular one woman who kept scowling at us and was rude to my husband when he went to the bar. Made us feel very uncomfortable and we left without finishing our meals shortly afterwards.
Our starters were lovely, garlic bread with cheese and veg soup.
Mains were ok- Tuna melt wasn't very nice, spicy wedges ok, husband's scampi he said was ok, but as I mentioned we left because of the loud comments being directed at us from the bar.
The staff were fine, the girl serving was lovely, the guy behind the bar didn't want to be there I don't think.
Would we go back? No. But is was beautiful inside and therefore a shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angel_eyes1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good singing duo, good bunch of people. Bar staff came round with free spicey wedges (very nice) and garlic bread.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gardner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Bar also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Royal Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing