We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Station”
Review of The Platform

The Platform
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Morecambe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Platform is a dedicated live performance venue, uniquely situated in a restored Edwardian railway station on Morecambe promenade. A variety of entertainment is on offer throughout the year from top acts and comedians. The Platform host a variety of festivals and community events, including the Morecambe Kite Festival. The Platform is owned and managed by Lancaster City Council. Keep up to date with the latest news on Facebook or sign up to receive our e-newsletter online. Please do not confuse our entertainment venue with the Station restaurant next door.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old Station”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

On Saturday the Platform had alternative health and other stalls, I had a 'standing up' reflexology experience for £5, would recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank westcountry2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great for live music”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

great venue, they have booked some great acts and its just a cosy laid back place to watch a band. Good bar not to expensive. The sound level is always just right, loads of parking and great location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayneward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubby and I went to see Stacey Kent (again - she is amazing!), as a late Christmas gift for me.

I thought the venue was lovely - it was warm and cosy, so close to the stage we were almost up there too yet it didn't feel cramped. I liked the tables and chairs at either side of the main seating, though we chose to sit near the front.

The acoustics were great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Drinks were fairly reasonably priced although hubby said the lager was watered down. I was going to buy a glass of wine but was helpfully advised that a (screwcap) bottle was better value. I took this option, with a couple of glasses so we could finish the bottle at our hotel later.

One of the thing that I loved most was that the bar was shut during the performance. There is nothing more annoying than trying to watch the performance when people are getting up and down, trying to squeeze past every five minutes and generally not giving the performers the respect or attention that is due to them while they are trying to entertain you.

A big thumbs up for The Platform!

(We didn't try the food or any other facilities).

We would thoroughly recommend The Berkeley guest house (just a 9 minute walk away) which was homely, squeaky clean and did a fantastic breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great old building”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been here several times, they have good artists on and the building is also used for other activities such as plays, dramas, brass bands. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan11149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have to admit to being biased. Our band plays at the Platform every year and we love the whole set up. The staff there are friendly andthe audience is always appreciative plus it has great acoustics. It is our favourite theatre to play

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Platform also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Platform? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing