We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Platform

The Platform
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Morecambe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Platform is a dedicated live performance venue, uniquely situated in a restored Edwardian railway station on Morecambe promenade. A variety of entertainment is on offer throughout the year from top acts and comedians. The Platform host a variety of festivals and community events, including the Morecambe Kite Festival. The Platform is owned and managed by Lancaster City Council. Keep up to date with the latest news on Facebook or sign up to receive our e-newsletter online. Please do not confuse our entertainment venue with the Station restaurant next door.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great for live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

great venue, they have booked some great acts and its just a cosy laid back place to watch a band. Good bar not to expensive. The sound level is always just right, loads of parking and great location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayneward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubby and I went to see Stacey Kent (again - she is amazing!), as a late Christmas gift for me.

I thought the venue was lovely - it was warm and cosy, so close to the stage we were almost up there too yet it didn't feel cramped. I liked the tables and chairs at either side of the main seating, though we chose to sit near the front.

The acoustics were great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Drinks were fairly reasonably priced although hubby said the lager was watered down. I was going to buy a glass of wine but was helpfully advised that a (screwcap) bottle was better value. I took this option, with a couple of glasses so we could finish the bottle at our hotel later.

One of the thing that I loved most was that the bar was shut during the performance. There is nothing more annoying than trying to watch the performance when people are getting up and down, trying to squeeze past every five minutes and generally not giving the performers the respect or attention that is due to them while they are trying to entertain you.

A big thumbs up for The Platform!

(We didn't try the food or any other facilities).

We would thoroughly recommend The Berkeley guest house (just a 9 minute walk away) which was homely, squeaky clean and did a fantastic breakfast.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been here several times, they have good artists on and the building is also used for other activities such as plays, dramas, brass bands. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan11149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Notts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have to admit to being biased. Our band plays at the Platform every year and we love the whole set up. The staff there are friendly andthe audience is always appreciative plus it has great acoustics. It is our favourite theatre to play

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N\W
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Evening events - Daytime lighting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been to numerous events at the Platform (mostly in the summer) and enjoyed them all. Albeit the seating isnt that good... uncomfortable to say the least. I realise that fold up chairs are great space savers when not in use but...ohh, my backside! Theres a great dancefloor and ample toilets, theres also a large stage and the sound system is great. Bar prices are not too bad, just a little inflated.

My only criticism is that on the Summer evening events the sun shines through the glass roof until quite late... it sorta ruins the atmosphere. Perhaps in time they may get roller blinds for this problem. On the whole though, its a great place to hold events and we will continue to visit.

P.S. Lots Car parking available and the Platform is right in front of the indoor market & carboot for all you bargain hunters. The walk to the centre of Morecambe is 5/6 mins away. If your looking for nostalgia, take a look at the wonderful Midland Hotel opposite the Platform, resored to its 1920/30s former glory.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank worrascam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Platform also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Morecambe, Lancashire
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Platform? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing