We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Wecolming”
Review of Hest Bank Inn

Hest Bank Inn
Ranked #11 of 112 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Warm and Wecolming”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This week our choice of Lunch venue was the Hest Bank Inn and we were not disappointed . The menu is reasonably priced and varied .There is a wide selection of soups , sandwiches , jacket potatoes and hot meals followed by a delicious choice of sweets which we were told are changed weekly . Service was very good and we were not pressured . We opted for soup and a sandwich and the portions were very generous to say the least . We managed a sweet but only just !!! As we only had soft drinks , which were average price , we can't comment on Wines , Beers etc . Overall the Hest Bank is a lovely Inn , well decorated , very clean with a nice atmosphere . All in all a relaxed afternoon , perfect with friends .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    114
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really nice experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Today wasn't the first time I have visited but it was for my partner who loved it . The staff are great, really polite and helpful and the food is tasty pub food (generous portions). The atmosphere, history and location of the pub are what really made it a special place. It couldn't be more perfect. Log fires in the Winter and a beautiful beer garden in the Summer by the canal. A real gem.

Helpful?
Thank Wilkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Birthday Meal”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Our family (16 of us) a mix of adults and children went to the Hest Bank for my mum's birthday on Saturday11th January, we all live locally so it was a central place to meet. As there were so many of us we pre-ordered our food, which made it so much easier when we arrived. The atmosphere was great as the place was fully booked and the choice of "ales" and wine were excellent as were all the staff, the landlord and lady are very friendly and helpful, making our night very easy and special. The starters, potted shrimps, terrine, smoked salmon, mushrooms were all delicious, and they served the childrens meals with them so they did not have to wait until we had finished and get fed up, brilliant idea. The mains, steaks, salmon, haddock, venison cobbler, bbq chicken and pork went down very well, all empty plates, everything was delicious, our compliments to the chef, and the service was excellent. We will most definitely be going back very soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoulgirlCarnforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“love the steak, costs slightly more than other places but i dont mind”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

love the hest bank inn , the food is great, the service is great and just a general great pub to chill. I dont mind paying more for a steak form here because its good food
Like the way they offer me a tab and just pay at the end
Try there steak its amazing
Beer is top notch
and no riff raff

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayneward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great Pub in a very pleasant location serving plenty of good hand pulled beers. The food is of a high standard and very tastey ( Well i think so) I have visited many times over the years but think the current licences have the best menu of them all,
The staff are very helpful and the service is good.
I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chewitt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hest Bank Inn also viewed

 
Slyne, Lancaster
 

Been to Hest Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing