We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food however large man (manager) rude to point of almost leaving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hest Bank Inn

Hest Bank Inn
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food however large man (manager) rude to point of almost leaving”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived at 2.50pm and asked for some menus as served till 3. Told you'd better order in five minutes because we stop serving. Ordered a drink and as we were opening the menu reading the first line the voice from the bar exclaimed "what do you want then?"
Not a very nice welcoming to a pregnant girl and her partner.
Then asked where we were sitting - said just outside.
Response - well whereabouts?!

Just to say there were maybe 10 other people outside at the time!

Once we got the food however, it was very nice.

You got plenty with 3 slices of bread and salad for less than £7.

All in all, could be a lovely place to go, Shame about the welcoming

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jc2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGChef, Owner at Hest Bank Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Very happy you enjoyed the meal, many apologies for the welcome, or lack of it, no excuses!
Hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    110
    26
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More effort in looking after regular customers!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Should look after the regular customers, that come & sponsor this pub all year round p'd off with no bar staff behind bar! Pub was very busy no managment! But like this on a quiet night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben1968a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good for the area....”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited for lunch on a Saturday. Staff were generally very helpful although there was one waitress who scowled the entire time we were there.
Food competent and very well presented. Had steak with Bearnaise sauce for main. Sauce very good and tasted freshly made (whether or not it is). While other reviewers have raved about menu, I think menu is pretty ordinary.
Compared with its peers locally it is very good. Globally, it is probably fairer to describe it as average. Would recommend in Morecambe and Lancaster area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A very nice meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We popped in on Staurday around half six for a meal and a few drinks. Our meal was very nice and exreemly fresh. The service was fine and the waitress was very attentive. We had a voucher for a free drink which could be used for folk having a meal. We did not have to wait long for the service. If I was in the area again I would try one of the puddings as they looked huge. The pub was very clean and the resteraunt areas played really nice music

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaggyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Old favourite”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This cosy old coaching Inn on the banks of the Lancaster Canal is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Recently refurbished to a high standard it offers good quality meals and the bonus of having a selection of cask ales. We had a snack lunch which was so big we feared we would not feel hungry enough for dinner later in the evening. Excellent varied menu at reasonable prices. The staff were pleasant and friendly. An old favourite that we will revisit next time we are in the area and hope that the sun will be shining so we can sit in the garden watching the canal boats and ducks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hest Bank Inn also viewed

Morecambe, Lancashire
Slyne, Lancaster
 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Hest Bank Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing