We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaside food”

Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional fish and chip take away with a modern stylish cafe with waiter/waitress service.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seaside food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you're looking for good place to eat in Morecambe this is it.
Lovely chips, nice crispy batter on the fish, though no cod on the menu, everything else was great & very good value, £13.00 for two haddock & chips with bread/butter & tea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeltonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    71
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy fish & chips”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My first visit back to the UK in a number of years and I had to get good fish & chips with mushy peas. I was not disappointed, yummy !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value but I've had better”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went twice to the cafe on my recent visit to Morecambe, each time having haddock and chips (there seems to be no cod in Morecambe). Price was very reasonable for eat-in - less than £6 - but the fish portion was rather small. Batter and chips crisp; the haddock fresher on my second visit. Service sometimes very slow. Cafe closes 7.30pm. Not a patch on some fish shops in London, though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilliansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This fish and chip shop was great. Great service, great fish and chips, One of the best fish and chip restaurants I have ever been to. The young waiter gave excellent service no waiting for ever for your meal. The fish was crisp and the chips crisp on the outside and fluffy inside and not soggy like so many you find. Over all an excellent experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Chip Shop”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Frequently visit the Christie Avenue shop, due to the quality of the fish. The young guy that works on the fryers is always very polite and very easy to speak to.
I've had some bad experiences with most of the staff being obnoxious and rude, mostly the young female stuff but also find the female manger to be very unapproachable and miserable.
Thankfully, the fish and chips make up for the majority of the staffs attitude.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonJones82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to Atkinson's Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing