We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Fault the Berkeley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here- the room was clean and warm with all the furniture fairly new, the owner told me they were planning to replace some of this to make the room layout better, good to see that they are always looking to improve. The cooked breakfast was very nice and made fresh to order there is also a wide variety of cereals available. The public areas are very modern and of a high standard I wouldn’t mind staying here with family for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisUddingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Hi Francis thanks for your review it was lovely to have you here. we have made a few changes since you have last been here, hope we get to see you soon all the the best.
Mal Colette & Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 622 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

just got back from weekend in morecambe always stay at berkely whenever i visit, only £25 for room, room is always pristine, tv, shower, tea and coffee, colette and mal very friendly and welcoming. full english breakfast and as much toast, coffee and juice as you can eat, bargain. seaside view, highly recommend.

Room Tip: all rooms fully equped and newly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

You two dont waste any time do you?
Missed you for breakfast this morning, next time.
Thanks for the kind review and it appears you got home ok. Hope the car didnt cost too much to get repaired.
Kind regards,
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. Friendly staff with a family feel. Breakfast was great, room clean and comfy, slept like a log. The bar has a friendly feel and the company was good. There are plenty of places to visit, lake district just up the road, outlet village for shopping. Places to eat nearby. The beach is opposite and bracing walk minutes away. Do not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: higher floors at the front for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Hi Joy,
Thanks for the review and kind words. It was so nice to see you after all these years and we both hope you dont leave it as long until next time.
Work continues on the rooms and hopefully, they will all be complete by spring. All looking new and modern.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at The Berkeley Guest House and had a lovely lovely time. I went up for business and then spent a few days to unwind and I did!
The bar is great, I must say, and Mal and Colette were a lot of fun! I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfasts and evening meals.... There was plenty of it. I got a good nights sleep too, my room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were great too. Loving Thomas by the way, what a great lad! Thanks for the sambucca evening too!!!! Happy days LOL See you all soon> Laurie M

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different rooms and cannot fault any, but if you want a great view ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

It was great to see you again and thanks for helping out with the social side of things due to my injury.
You should all keep in touch with each other and hire a mini bus next time you all decide to visit Morecambe.
Thats what we call coincidence when 3 parties book the same weekend and all live so close to each other without knowing it. You will have to make it the London reunion weekend next time.
Hope you can make New Year!
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I always stay at The Berkeley in Morecambe. Due to business it is sometimes together and sometimes seperately. I myself stayed there in October and I cannot say enough about my stay.
My breakfast and evening meal was always really nice and plentiful! The bar was a great place to unwind in the evenings, Mal & Colette the owners always there with a smile, and were excellent company. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they are a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome. My room was lovely and clean and very comfortable too. The staff were also very friendly. I highly reccomend this guest house. Ilook forward to my next visit. John Mitchell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks Lorraine for taking time to review our guest house.
We seem to have hit the right note with you and the other guests from your area. We couldnt believe that you lived only a few miles from each other. Now you have new friends down there as well as up here.
See you again soon.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had to go to Morecambe on my own due to family reasons. The owners and staff at The Berkley made me feel very welcome, they helped me with certain things I had to do whilst there. I cannot thank them enough. I never felt awkward or alone. The food was excellent & plenty of it! My room was lovely and clean, and very comfortable! Nothing was too much trouble for them. I will most certainly go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchell_pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

So nice to see you again. It shows we are doing something right if people like yourselves keep coming back.
We hope the reason for your trip was resolved but dont let it keep you away.
Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great stay again, my second visit here, perfect room, comfy warm bed and such a lovely welcome from Mal and Colette and staff, This time i was visiting solo as was going to a wedding
and before i left for the wedding what a lovely breakfast to start the day, great stay, spotless and friendly..many thanks guys you doing a fantastic job, marie x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Maria,
Nice to see you travelling alone this time. Seems you enjoyed your day and evening at the wedding..
Sorry to hear that you cant make New Year, maybe next year. The package seems to have become very popular and we are now fully booked.
See you next time.
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley GuestHouse

Address: 39 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range: $59 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley has just been awarded a Silver Rosette to compliment their 3 star rating with Visit Britain.A family friendly licensed guesthouse situated on the sea front with stunning views over the bay and the Lake District hills. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, freeview TVs, beverage trays. Wii, bar games and beach equipment available free of charge. Free wi-fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing