We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the demarara rememberd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berkeley GuestHouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hi Mal@Colette,Can,t thankyou both enough for the great w/end Val@I had,just like home from home,stayed in many hotels and b@b,s all over the country but yours is by far the best for friendlyness,service,comfort,cleanleness,not to mention that great breaky.once again thanks to you both for a great w/end and we will be back!.Ben@val Casey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hi Ben and Val,
It was great seeing you again and thanks for using our guesthouse on your trips to Morecambe.
It is remembered and will never be forgotten..... And the paddle is safe!
Hope you can make the trip again next year and hope you are on the mend.

Best wishes
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley GuestHouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

yet again thank you for a warm welcome, this is the third time over the last past 3 years i have stayed at the berkeley house , what a great nights sleep i had , and breakfast was very well presented, i didnt have to lift a finger as mal and colette where so helpfull, yet again a big thank you a see you agin next des ansfield

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Des. Thanks for taking the time to submit a glowing review about us.
Glad you enjoyed your third visit and hope to see you again next year, if not before.
Regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here towards the end of September,2 nights on route to the Lakes.Having been here last year at a similar time and being totally enthralled i was interested to see if Mal and Collette have maintained the standards.I did not need to worry.I mentioned last year about how they have raised the bar in levels of hospitality.Those standards have been maintained,very refreshing.A little piece of heaven awaits anyone who stays at the Berkley.If you have a need it is here awaiting and i give the Berkley full marks both for comfort and the warmth shown by Mal and his staff.The other guest houses in Morecambe can surely not match this.All boxes tiicked,surely this is jewel in Morecambes crown.Well done guys and thankyou

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindabruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you very much for those words Bruce and Linda. Very encouraging. We have done a lot of alterations/refurbishments since you were here last year and no doubt there will be more changes before you come again next year.
We do try and listen to guests comments and act on them but can only do so if they tell us at the time and not leave it until they have gone home.
Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in room 3 - a very small twin bedded room. The beds were very uncomfy and both made you feel like you were rolling out of them although the one by the window was worse. In the morning we tried to use the shower. There was a trickle of water that went from hot to cold and the shower controls were the other side of the shower curtain. I decided not to wash my hair as I would never have been able to get the soap out.

It was not all bad - it was clean and the breakfast was ok (although it would have been good to have had some fruit or yoghurt).

Room Tip: The other rooms may be ok but dont choose room 3.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therussellsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We are so sorry you felt you had to make such negative comments regarding our guesthouse.
We have checked the beds and have contacted other guests who have used that room and they all agree that there was nothing wrong with them. They are actually recently new beds and are metal framed so we cant figure out how you say they roll to one side.
As for the shower. We admit that the water pressure around here is not very good but we fit showers that have adjustable heads on them and if you had adjusted the shower head you would have found that it is quite a powerful flow.
We are a 3 star guesthouse and offer a breakfast menu that is more than the requirements for such an establishment. We have stayed in 3 star guesthouse's that simply ask you if you want a full breakfast and put it in front of you. Our menu offers you an extensive choice such a full breakfast, eggs done anyway you want, cheese on toast, grapefruit, porridge and more.
We cannot possibly cater for each individual guests creature comforts such as a soft or firm mattress but we do ensure that what we do provide is of the highest standard.
Our previous 60+ reviews bear us out and are sure the next 60+ will too.

Yours disappointedly
The Berkeley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night before cycling the way of the roses.
rooms were very comfortable and clean.
Mal was so helpful when we had problems with one of our bikes, providing us with zip ties and advice.
thank you,
would definitely recommend this B and B

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzyhebden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hi ladies,
Thanks for your kind review.
It was no problem sorting your bike out. Hope it lasted the whole trip.
How was the ride? Hope you didnt get toooo wet.
The way the weather has been, i might be able to canoe the actual way of the roses next year!!!

Kind regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mal and Colette, thanks for another fantastic stay! Your hospitality is so warm and reassuring. Your guest house is just ideal for family holidays. We are looking forwards to staying again soon. Lisa and Howard.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Hi Lisa and Howard.
It was great seeing you both again and hopefully, not too long until your next visit.
Hope John didn't talk too much on the way home!!!
Have you seen the photographs that were taken during your stay on the social network?
Please keep in touch and you never know, we may get down your way soon and call in.
Regards
Mal, Colette, Thomas and the girls.
Cant say from Lilly because she has gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nights lovely views from the top floor room.
Pleasant room all facilities as you would expect from this type of accommodation.
Good breakfast, pleasant owners and staff would recommend this Guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conabdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeleymorecambe, Owner at Berkeley GuestHouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thanks for reviewing our guesthouse conabdan. Everyone who stays in the higher floors comment on the views. Its nice to be able to see something other than just the sea.
We feel we are getting there seeing as we have only been the owners since 2010. Its taken a lot of hard work to get to where we are currently but there is still lots to do. Its a never ending job.
Also thanks for saying you will recommend us to your friends.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
The Berkeley crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley GuestHouse

Address: 39 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range: $69 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkeley has just been awarded a Silver Rosette to compliment their 3 star rating with Visit Britain.A family friendly licensed guesthouse situated on the sea front with stunning views over the bay and the Lake District hills. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, freeview TVs, beverage trays. Wii, bar games and beach equipment available free of charge. Free wi-fi also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing