We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame about the bar prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Littlehamptin Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“shame about the bar prices”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We went with Shearings Coach Trips on 8 day holiday Great bedroom number 101 overlooking the bay well worth the extra money all the facilities in the room and hotel were up to standard. As we were half board the breakfasts and evening meals were good with a nice selection to choose from.The only slight niggle was the bar prices which were exorbitant to say the least with beer at £3 /90 a pint a bit expensive for us pensioners. all in all venue.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jazz336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear reviewer
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and particularly the recently refurbished standard plus twin room 101.
I shall pass on your compliments to chef and his kitchen team.
I’m sorry you were disappointed by bar pricing but our prices remain competitive for a hotel bar in the area and hope you will consider returning .

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    152
    63
    13
    6
See reviews for
48
209
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic night with After Dark Murder Mystery.
A classic carry in theme, performed with real passion, from the cast.
Had a fabulous night with friends as always but this time we also raised some money for a wonderful cause St. John's hospice.
Staff really helpful and food was good .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquishadowhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review of the Murder Mystery event we recently held in aid of St Johns Hospice, our community project for 2014. A great night was had by all, including the staff, and i am so pleased to read your satisfaction.
I look forward to your return visit.

Regards
Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Oh Matron!! What a fantastic night - After Dark were the usual 100% and created a right old 'Carry on! ' We worked hard to get the losers trophy - that made the night an extra laugh thanks Lee for writing up our efforts!! Anna from the hospice made a heart felt plea about fundraising after all that is what the night was all about so glad to be part of it. Thank you to the Strathmore my vegan curry was as good as any Indian restaurant I go to- really enjoyed it. Staff polite and efficient so a big well done all!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your 5 star review of the function we held for St Johns Hospice, indeed a great charity and supported by the hotel as our community project.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your next event

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a lovely 4 night break at the Strathmore Hotel. We travelled by coach to the hotel. we upgraded our room to a sea view superior. My goodness we were not disappointed. The bedroom and bathroom were very modern, comfy and clean. We had fabulous views of Morecombe bay. The dining area was a little small, but the meals were excellent and our waiter Thomasz was very efficient, hard working and nothing was too much trouble for him. The bar staff Lee and Bobbi were very helpful as well. The hotel in places could do with updating. But overall we had a lovely break and would return again.

Room Tip: superior sea view room, costs a little bit more, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaynor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear reviewer

I have passed on your compliments to Tomasz, Lee and Bobbi and the housekeeping and kitchen teams.
As i write we are redecorating the lounge area and will be completing the next phase of bedroom refurbishments later in the year.
Thank you for your wonderful review of your superior view room.

Regards
Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in Morcambe Bay at The Strathmore; a very pleasantly situated hotel just across the road from the promenade. The bay is absolutely fabulous and there is a wonderful view from the dining room in the hotel. Our twin room was large and spacious and quietly positioned to the rear of the hotel. It was extremely clean and had everything that we could wish for. However, it would benefit from an update in time which no doubt will be in the offing. The meals were lovely and perfectly cooked and served to us by Leon. He was delightful and always had a smile and a joke with us at meal times. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel I am so delighted to read that we ticked so many boxes for your satisfaction.
Along with the stunning sea view from the hotel and flat position onto the promenade our staff are our biggest asset and they will be pleased to read your comments.

Regards

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings to Morecambe and the Lakes . This was our hotel and my review is very positive :-). A little dated and needs some repairs , but beautifully clean , comfortable and welcoming . Our waiter Leon ( the English one lol ) was funny , attentive to our requirements and a mine of local information . Food was excellent .....though the fried eggs more like poached :-( .....but that is my one and only gripe !! Lovely sea front position with fantastic views across the bay to the Lakeland area . Would definitely return .

Room Tip: If you need walk-in shower you would be best to request on booking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for such a glowing review of your stay, I am so pleased the weather was in favour for you to be able to enjoy the views across the bay.

I look forward to your return

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights from 11th April to celebrate mum's 85th birthday. There were 9 of us and the restaurant kindly accomodated us all sitting together at meal times. Waiters were lovely especially Leon and nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional, tasty and hot. Entertainment was really good. The double rooms were clean and comfortable but the single room mum stayed in was shabby. The carpet was very worn and the room was tiny. Mum has trouble getting around and the step in to the shower was too high to allow access. Hotel is in a lovely spot facing the bay. (Bet it's lovely in warmer weather but it was so cold when we were there we had to go out and buy hats,scarves and gloves). Two downsides were the cost of the drinks - extortionate springs to mind. And also the receptionist with the foreign accent who was very rude. Will still go back again. This is the third break we have booked with Shearings (Paignton and Ilfracombe) and this was by far the best.

Room Tip: Basic rooms were comfortable but if you want a seaview you will need to pay the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, Front Office Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear reviewer

I am so pleased your group enjoyed so many aspects of your birthday stay.
I do apologise that all the rooms were not to your satisfaction. We carry out continuous maintenance and decoration and I have noted your comments for investigation.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Thank you for posting your review.

Joanna Wilkinson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
2,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 11 in Morecambe
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Property: Bay Strathmore Hotel
Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing