We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“forgettable experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Strathmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“forgettable experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

location not bad, room was adequate, but the food was appalling. The food began ok but the chef had no idea how to cook and as a result we had to go in to town to get a decent meal. the only highlight of Morecambe was the Morecambe statue and the town seemed depressed and lacked any type of entertainment. The service in the bar was slow and would not return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Diane P



Thank you for your review, I am surprised regarding your comments reference the food served at the Strathmore Hotel. As you can see we have many positive comments.

I am sorry if the Strathmore Hotel and Morecambe did not live up to your expectations but Morecambe is a lovely town with plenty to see and explore in the surrounding area.



Regards



Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    150
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
48
206
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well were do i start, there is so much to say,we booked the strathmore for our wedding, we opted for the wedding package which was very good value.firstly the rooms a little bit dated but clean. the bridal suite is gorgeous with views across the bay, lovely four poster and big bath, the food for the wedding was delicious soup, roast beef, and all the trimmings, apple pie & custard, the service was second to none well done to all the waiters you were superb,LEE those strawberry dacaries (yummy) well done, MATT the manager you deserve a medal, nothing was to much trouble you sorted out anything i asked for,reception staff very good.a good choice at breakfast. thank you for a truely fantastic wedding day.if your looking for a wedding venue see the strathmore hotel for there wedding packages, highly recommended.very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Joanne and Chris



I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding with us at the Strathmore and I have passed on your praise to all of the staff.



I agree with you that our wedding package is very good value.



Congratulations from all of us at the Strathmore Hotel and thank you for allowing us to share your special day.



Regards



Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently had a 2 night self drive weekend break at this hotel. It's situated on a busy promenade with lovely views over the bay. The hotel has its own car park for which there is a charge but there's free parking on the promenade outside the hotel. There are frequent buses into Morecambe from a nearby bus stop.

The hotel was very clean and the food very good with a good choice of menu. Our room was ok but I found the bathroom very small. The staff were very pleasant and always willing to help. There was entertainment on the Friday and Saturday evenings which was very enjoyable.

My only complaint would be the coffee after dinner. You have to go into the lounge and help yourself to coffee from flasks and I found the coffee to be cold.

The hotel is not particularly suitable for disabled people who are confined to a wheelchair. There are no downstairs bedrooms and the lift is so small that you wouldn't be able to get a wheelchair into it.

We would stay at this hotel again as Morecambe is a good base to explore the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millermagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Millermagic,



Thank you for your review. I am please that you found the hotel to be very clean with a good choice of food.



I agree that the staff here at the Strathmore are very pleasant and willing to help. I am very fortunate to have such a friendly team.



I have noted your comments and I will action them as I see necessary.



I hope to see you again in the future.



Regards



Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings holiday.
Located opposite the promenade with amazing views across the ever changing scenery of Morecambe Bay to the fells and hills beyond. The road is very busy and we always opted to walk to the pedestrian crossing a couple of minutes away.
Though somewhat tired and dark in the bar/lounge area the hotel is comfotable, spottlessly clean, good choice of tasty meals.
Frequent buses stop outside the hotel.
We upgraded to room 203, a superior sea view room which is decorated to an extremely high standard with huge bay window overlooking the spectacular Morecambe Bay.
The room iteslf would warrant a 5* and was luxurious and gorgeous BUT the 4 poster bed is very high and with a wide wooden surround around the mattress getting in and out of bed without bruises or worse is a struggle. The bathroom is stunning with a huge sunken oval bath accessed by two steps, entered with extreme caution as the grab rail is beyond reach. Surprisingly there is no shower. In my opinion this gorgeous room is unsuitable for elderly and disabled. We are aged 70 + 79 and struggled.
One criticism is the practice of allowing allowing staff and guests to smoke outside the covered entrance which means you have to walk through the smoke to get in and out of the hotel and the smoke drifts in through open bedroom windows.
Ver happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, there is traffic noise but worth it for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Jeanhartley 41

I agree with you the views across Morecambe Bay are amazing.



I am pleased that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and that you enjoyed the food.



As you state it is well worth upgrading to a Superior room.



I have noted your comments and I assure you that I will take action where appropriate.



Thank you for your kind review and I hope to see you again.



Regards



Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

a shearings monday to friday holiday hotel very good,, service excellent food good ,freindly staff room clean and tidy with a lovely view across the bay.No faults with hotel or staff but not a lot to do in morecambe.Would stay there again if passing through,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Wendy B

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Strathmore Hotel. I agree that the views across Morecambe Bay are lovely.

Thank you for posting your review and I hope to see you both again in the future.

Regards

Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Shearings Monday to Friday. Had a good holiday the food was excellent as was the dining room Our room (101) was clean and spacious with a lovely view across the bay except bathroom needed decorating the bath panel was grotty and the pipes under the radiator were filthy, however the towels and bed linen were spotlessly clean. Very comfy bed. Tues and Weds the entertainment was very good, wont mention Thurs !
The staffs were lovely. Sorry about the winge about the bathroom. We met some great people and had a lovely time. The trips were great. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Sea worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dotdek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewPeacock, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear dotdek

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you had a good holiday and that you enjoyed the food and service.

I have noted your comments about the bathroom and I can assure you that these points have been attended to.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Strathmore Hotel.

Regards

Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A Shearings coach holiday. Hotel itself very good, food tasty.The staff in all areas very friendly and helpful. The tours were good with Alan our driver being very helpful. The entertainment On Saturday, Wednesday and Friday eas excellent. Bruce McLaren in particular will encourage me to go back. His version of 'Patricia the Stripper' is worthy of an oscar. I will definately be returning again, after I have been to all of the Bay hotels. (Only 4 to go now)

Room Tip: Ask not to be over the outside entertainments venue. Can be noisy on a Saturday night if a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bay Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Jen C

Thank you for your great review. I have passed on your praise to all of the staff and I agree that Alan is very helpful.

We are very lucky to have Bruce Mclaren appearing here at the Strathmore and he will be delighted with your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Strathmore once you have visited the last 4 remaining Bay Hotels.

Regards

Matt Peacock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headway Hotel
Headway Hotel
#6 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Strathmore Hotel

Property: Bay Strathmore Hotel
Address: Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Strathmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on the beautiful East Promenade of Morecambe, this hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay and Lakeland Fells. The beautiful restaurant and cocktail bar is complemented by the stunning sea view across Morecambe Bay. The pleasant bar and lounges also have a great ambience in which to relax and enjoy the warm and friendly hospitality. The Strathmore benefits from a lift to all floors and there is plenty of parking available in the hotel car park which is located on the promenade. This hotel is close to many attractions and places of interest, but also offers the perfect base from which to explore the neighbouring Lake District and Lancaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathmore Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing