We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal or afternoon tea”

The Sun Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $36
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Sun Terrace Restaurant serves up contemporary cuisine in a relaxed, debonair environment. Boasting magnificent sea views, it's ideal for busy business brunches as well as intimate dinners. We serve British classics prepared using local produce from Lancashire, the Cumbrian countryside and fresh from the Irish Sea.
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Evening meal or afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

An evening meal here was simply beautiful. Quality ingredients expertly put together. Afternoon tea was also a wonderful experience. The food was just superb.

My only slight gripe is with the service, but not the staff. That seems a strange thing to say, but the staff were really lovely, very polite and pleasant. They just needed to be a little snappier with the service. In such lovely surroundings, this did not detract greatly from the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KFCDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    131
    44
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea was an afternoon delight!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was recently lucky enough to have Afternoon Tea in the Sun Terrace restaurant at the Midland Hotel with my parents and grandparents. The Sun Terrace certainly lived up to its name for a start- we were fortunate that the weather was good for our booking and as the sun shone through the floor to ceiling windows it was as warm as if we were sat on a balcony in Spain or Southern France....I realise that sounds a bit hyperbolic but it really did begin to feel rather warm as the sun shone down on us, even though the reality was it was almost freezing outside!

We were seated at a lovely table with crisp, white tablecloths and pressed white napkins and were asked whether we would like tea or coffee. I opted for a pot of tea whilst the rest of my family chose a cafetiere. Throughout the meal there was unlimited tea and coffee and it was quickly replenished each time it was needed. The afternoon tea itself was delicious and very generously portioned per person. Each of us were able to sample four different finger sandwiches including smoked salmon and caper mayonnaise, egg and watercress, oak smoked ham and cucumber and cream cheese. The sandwiches were very dainty and beautifully presented but were still an ample size to satisfy your appetite. These were followed by not one, not two,but three different types of cake- an eclair, a fruit tartlet with creme patisserie and a slice of victoria sponge. All three were beautiful. There were also an abundance of scones- both fruit and plain- with clotted cream and strawberry preserve.

All in all we had a thoroughly good time and all left feeling rather full and happy. Would definitely recommend it if you fancy treating yourself- it is quite pricey at £15.50 per person but it is worth the price tag for an indulgent treat or a special occasion :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate9187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

service was really good food was excellent
succulent scallop starter
best steak i have ever had hand made chips were just delicious
ambience of the restaurant was very serene and peaceful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Morecambe”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

In our opinion this is the best restaurant in Morecambe. The views from the floor to ceiling windows are spectacular. All the staff were lovely and efficient and the food was wonderful. The olive or onion bread served at the start was very good. For starters we had the shrimps and the scallops. Both were very nice but the scallops in particular were very good. For mains we had the steak and duck which were both excellent, although the duck had the edge. The total bill, including a £27 bottle of wine was approximately £100 which we thought was good value given the quality of food and overall dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great views over Morecombe Bay”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just had lunch at the weekend and found the food to be great. Nicely presented and plenty of it too. Not a big selection, but definitely very tasty. It does seem a bit bland for an Art Deco building though. Needs a bit of colour; well quite a bit.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
Morecambe, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sun Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing