We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palatine Bar

The Palatine Bar
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was dissapointed with the Palatine first with a demand to leave my credit card behind the bar because other customers had left without paying,then having only been in 5 minutes we were asked if we knew what we were eating. After several trips up and down stairs because every thing has to be ordered at the bar we received our food 2 of these appeared to be childrens portions afterwhen asked about sweets the waitress never returned to take the order so we payed our bill and spent more money elsewear.On leaving it seemed that it is usual for most of the people in to swear every other word

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parky1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    139
    31
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Better than pub grub and best pub in Morecambe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Morecambe isn't renowned for fine dining or a quality night out but there are a few gems and this is definitely the best. We met up with friends intending to go to Lancaster and ended up eating here and staying most of the night. Firstly, the staff are friendly and bright and really know their stuff. We sampled some ales and enjoyed a few pints of really good beers. We would have left it there except that we saw someone else's food arrive and didn't realise that they did their own pizzas and a good range of food. This certainly wasn't pub grub. Portions, presentation and service was all way ahead of any bar food we'd had before. All in all a brilliant night and one place to spend time on a night out before rushing in to Lancaster!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Condorman367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personal favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My local haunt when in Morecambe. Quite a romantic, pretty little bar that does really excellent food. Try and get one of the two comfy chairs infront of the window upstairs if you can, the views are magnificent on a clear day. Has a super choice of wines, quality and well presented food and the staff are professional and friendly. Ideal place to while away the hours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You Can't Choose The Clientele”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

It goes without saying that you have to take the other customers as you find them. Clearly that is so but Sunday evening was marred to a very large extent by a loud and increasingly foul mouthed refugee from the North East. Whilst the bar staff did all that they could (short of ejecting him) his language was both offensive and illegal.
That having been said the bar is immaculately clean and serves some very palatable real ale. The bar man was both helpful and pleasant. His recommendations were greatly appreciated. The food was of an acceptable standard without being world beating but was good value for money. I would certainly recommend that you visit (but check that there are no Geordies there before you do).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjii54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good beer but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place. Very clean. Good beer. Food unremarkable insofar as my fries tasted as Iif the oil needed to be changed. However it was down to earth, unpretentious and I would certainly pay a return visit! Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieChurch-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palatine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Palatine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing