We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Broadwater Guest House
Ranked #3 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Really good quality guest house with very friendly and approachable hosts who are passionate about the service they provide. Breakfasts were excellent. Chose this guest house because it was rated number 1 in Morecambe and it absolutely deserves to be.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 on second floor with a magnificent view of Morecambe bay. There are 2 comfy chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
187
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a last minute booking as we were visiting friends in Morecambe. Room was superb and the breakfast was simply the best. Will certainly be comimg again and no hesitation in reccomending to anyone who wants to stay in Morecambe and requires a high standard of service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pleased to see that standards are being maintained. Although our stay was for only 2 nights we could not have been made to feel more welcome.

It was very pleasing to find that the quality of ( particularly) the breakfasts is fast becoming a by-word with the locals.

We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 7 have particularly good views across the bay from, appropriately, a comfortable bay win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Broadwater is definitely one of the best guest houses we have stayed in! We found Jean and Alex to be friendly and interesting to talk to; lovely people running a lovely establishment. We chose room 7 for our 5 nights stay, as we wanted the fantastic bay view and the opportunity to watch the fabulous Morecambe sunsets. Views aside, however, the room itself was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, and a lovely en-suite with a walk-in shower that worked well.
One pleasing touch was the small residents' lounge with sea view, stocked with information about the local area, and a selection of books to borrow. Another was the information folder in the room with some information about Jean and Alex themselves, their family, and The Broadwater property.
The location is ideal as it is not too far from central Morecambe, and we found it to be quiet- only some slight road noise which didn't interfere with our sleep. Free parking outside on the road was also a bonus, and the one time we couldn't get a spot, the car was perfectly safe in a nearby car park which costs only 50p for 24 hours.
Alex cooks a fantastic full English, and provides his own home-made marmalade which is very tasty. Jean always provides a warm welcome for all guests on coming down for breakfast, and nothing is too much trouble. Would have loved to have stayed for a bit longer than we did, and the next time we plan to come to Morecambe, our first choice will be The Broadwater. We would recommend Jean and Alex and The Broadwater to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a single night stay over the phone at short notice, arrived earlier than expected so popped to the Broadwater to let them know we were in the area and would call back later, the room was already prepared so we dropped our bags and went for a tour of the area. The Broadwater is well located for a visit to Morecombe, its on a quiet stretch of the Prom but a pleasant stroll to the main vistor areas. Unlike most other tourist resorts these days, there are no parking restrictions outside the Broadwater, so no need to waste half of your stay or getting up at the crack of dawn to relocate your car to avoid the dreaded traffic warden.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, Jean, the landlady quickly provides details of whats what and is very pleasant.
We were shown to room 2, located at the back, (no sea view but we were only there for one night so it was never going to be a deal breaker). Our room was more than adequate with a large comfy bed, a modern well appointed en-suite, TV, seating area and tea coffee facilities.
Breakfast was excellent, in fact it was better than excellent, and would recommend the Broadwater as a place to stay even if the room had contained a hammock and tin bath......as long as they dont change the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A big thank you to Alex and Jean for providing not only a beautiful room, a warm and friendly welcome, but also the perfect breakfast to start a superb holiday. The food was excellent and the veiws from the dining area were superb. The information on things to do in morecambe and the position of the guest house mean your just a short walk from the shore front itself. We would definitly stay again, absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wanted somewhere at the east end of Morecambe which was inexpensive. I have stayed in a few of the B&Bs at the West end of Morecambe, which were OK but a bit shabby. Really impressed with the Broadwater - friendly welcome, comfy bed, free wi-fi, brilliant breakfast - what more could you want!

I thought the information folder in the room was a very nice touch - not just the usual set of rules and general info, but a lot of detail about the work that has been done on the property and the ongoing plans, as well as good places to eat and the nearest local shops (being a former local I didn't need much of the information but it would really help a newcomer). The other nice touch is the information about the view and the binoculars on the windowsill.

My single sea view room was small but comfortable and clean, and the sunsets are always worth any money :-) . The shower actually worked properly, which is unusual in a B&B!

Breakfast was excellent and nothing is too much trouble. I had a veggie breakfast - there is a menu but you can mix and match however you want. Another guest there at the same time required gluten free and this was no problem at all. Even big hotels sometimes have problems with specific requirements and rarely cook it so well.

So much thought at so little expense!

Can't fault it - I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Yacht Bay View Guest House
Yacht Bay View Guest House
#4 of 25 in Morecambe
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadwater Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadwater Guest House

Property: The Broadwater Guest House
Address: 356 Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Broadwater Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleanliness, locally sourced ingredients cooked fresh to order, customer service and comfort are all very high on the agenda for guests of The Broadwater. From the moment you step inside the Broadwater with it's plush Reception Hall you will be treated to a warm welcome. Whether it is for one night or several, business or pleasure; we will endevour to make your stay as comfortable as we can. All our rooms are en-suite with bath robes. Tea and coffee tray provided with Ringtons beverages, each room has a bottle chiller stocked with complimentary bottled water. We are situated on Morecambe's select East Promenade, with glorious views of the Lakeland Fells across the bay. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Broadwater Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing