We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Broadwater Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Broadwater Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 26 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of the best places to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Broadwater is definitely one of the best guest houses we have stayed in! We found Jean and Alex to be friendly and interesting to talk to; lovely people running a lovely establishment. We chose room 7 for our 5 nights stay, as we wanted the fantastic bay view and the opportunity to watch the fabulous Morecambe sunsets. Views aside, however, the room itself was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, and a lovely en-suite with a walk-in shower that worked well.
One pleasing touch was the small residents' lounge with sea view, stocked with information about the local area, and a selection of books to borrow. Another was the information folder in the room with some information about Jean and Alex themselves, their family, and The Broadwater property.
The location is ideal as it is not too far from central Morecambe, and we found it to be quiet- only some slight road noise which didn't interfere with our sleep. Free parking outside on the road was also a bonus, and the one time we couldn't get a spot, the car was perfectly safe in a nearby car park which costs only 50p for 24 hours.
Alex cooks a fantastic full English, and provides his own home-made marmalade which is very tasty. Jean always provides a warm welcome for all guests on coming down for breakfast, and nothing is too much trouble. Would have loved to have stayed for a bit longer than we did, and the next time we plan to come to Morecambe, our first choice will be The Broadwater. We would recommend Jean and Alex and The Broadwater to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
178
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a single night stay over the phone at short notice, arrived earlier than expected so popped to the Broadwater to let them know we were in the area and would call back later, the room was already prepared so we dropped our bags and went for a tour of the area. The Broadwater is well located for a visit to Morecombe, its on a quiet stretch of the Prom but a pleasant stroll to the main vistor areas. Unlike most other tourist resorts these days, there are no parking restrictions outside the Broadwater, so no need to waste half of your stay or getting up at the crack of dawn to relocate your car to avoid the dreaded traffic warden.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, Jean, the landlady quickly provides details of whats what and is very pleasant.
We were shown to room 2, located at the back, (no sea view but we were only there for one night so it was never going to be a deal breaker). Our room was more than adequate with a large comfy bed, a modern well appointed en-suite, TV, seating area and tea coffee facilities.
Breakfast was excellent, in fact it was better than excellent, and would recommend the Broadwater as a place to stay even if the room had contained a hammock and tin bath......as long as they dont change the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A big thank you to Alex and Jean for providing not only a beautiful room, a warm and friendly welcome, but also the perfect breakfast to start a superb holiday. The food was excellent and the veiws from the dining area were superb. The information on things to do in morecambe and the position of the guest house mean your just a short walk from the shore front itself. We would definitly stay again, absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I wanted somewhere at the east end of Morecambe which was inexpensive. I have stayed in a few of the B&Bs at the West end of Morecambe, which were OK but a bit shabby. Really impressed with the Broadwater - friendly welcome, comfy bed, free wi-fi, brilliant breakfast - what more could you want!

I thought the information folder in the room was a very nice touch - not just the usual set of rules and general info, but a lot of detail about the work that has been done on the property and the ongoing plans, as well as good places to eat and the nearest local shops (being a former local I didn't need much of the information but it would really help a newcomer). The other nice touch is the information about the view and the binoculars on the windowsill.

My single sea view room was small but comfortable and clean, and the sunsets are always worth any money :-) . The shower actually worked properly, which is unusual in a B&B!

Breakfast was excellent and nothing is too much trouble. I had a veggie breakfast - there is a menu but you can mix and match however you want. Another guest there at the same time required gluten free and this was no problem at all. Even big hotels sometimes have problems with specific requirements and rarely cook it so well.

So much thought at so little expense!

Can't fault it - I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is one of the best English B & Bs I've stayed in, and it has been quite a few by now! The single room was a good size, well furnished, with thoughtful detail. Breakfast is fabulous, the view across the Bay to the Lake District hills alone is worth the rates, which by the way are more than reasonable. Basically the only niggle was that the shower was a bit weak, but that's to be expected at the top of an old house. The hosts are very friendly, very helpful, and the regular guests who seem to come back several times a year really know why!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

lovely guest house owners very pleasant and helpful rooms very comfortable and clean we had a fridge in our room with bottles of water in it which was a nice touch don't usually like the shower gels etc which you find in hotels but these smelt gorgeous the breakfast was delicious would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezzysouthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were really impressed with the high standards and attention to detail in this Guest House. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable - really lovely view - and although we arrived early we were allowed into our room straight away. The owners were friendly and helpful without being overbearing and the breakfast was excellent. Can definitely be recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room, its well worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidlmegmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lothersdale Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#9 of 11 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 26 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadwater Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadwater Guesthouse

Property: The Broadwater Guesthouse
Address: 356 Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Broadwater Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleanliness, locally sourced ingredients cooked fresh to order, customer care and comfort are all very high on the agenda for guests of The Broadwater. You can book with confidence to stay at our accommoadation, whether it is for one night or several, business or pleasure; we will endevour to make your stay as comfortable as we can. From the moment you step inside the Broadwater with it's plush Reception Hall you will be treated to a warm welcome. All our rooms are en-suite, tea and coffee tray with Ringtons beverages and BeeKind toilitries, each room has a bottle chiller stocked with complimentary bottled water. We are situated on Morecambe's select East Promenade, with glorious views of the Lakeland Fells across the bay. Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Broadwater Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing