We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Headway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Headway Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel, travelling with a coach party. The reception rooms and the dining rooms are well decorated and furnished and the large dance floor is very good. Our bedroom was on the third floor and was clean with a good T.V. The beds were comfortable and had sheets and blankets. The hair dryer was the smallest I had ever seen. No tissues, toiletries (apart from soap in a dispenser) or biscuits were provided and the coffee was of poor quality. The en suite bathroom had a bath, but beware of the extremely hot water if you're having a shower. The view of Morecambe Bay was fantastic and we were not disturbed by the constant traffic on the promenade.
The food was of variable quality. My melon was not ripe and I would have cooked the chicken for a lot longer. The vegetable lasagne was lovely and people who asked for salad (not on the menu) were delighted. The icecream dessert consisted of three scoops of different flavours and there was a generous amount of cheese and biscuits with one piece of asparagus and a few grapes. At breakfast the porridge with honey was very good, but there was no fresh fruit. There was a good choice at the hot breakfast buffet, served in covered dishes.
The staff were all pleasant and drinking water was cheerfully provided. Be aware that on the final morning of your stay, staff will come into your bedroom to take the sheets from your bed while you are having breakfast. When we protested about this, we were told there was only one washing machine!

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Headway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Following my 50th Birthday celabrations ( 50th Birthday and celebration should not be in the same sentence) I would like to thank the staff for a great evening, the food was excellent, especially the Vegetarian options, and a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just arrived back from a week at the headway and very disappointed, having been there for the last two years at this time with a bus trip and had nothing but praise for it we found out they had changed the chef since our last visit, the food this time was of very poor quality and choice, i can eat anything but i actually didn't eat two meals after one mouthful, the hotel and staff are still 100% as is the entertainment but the food is not we will not be going again till the chef is once again replaced and the food is good again

Room Tip: 109 is a nice seaview
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

just had a weekend stay at the headway hotel the room we had was a twin,The room was clean as was the bath room,the shower was a bit tempremental regarding the temperature.
regarding the food,at best only average,nice view from the hotel overlooking morcombe bay,
The entertainment on both nights was very good,The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: try for a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbyboyYokshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well what can I say but NEVER AGAIN...... When we arrived all you can smell at the entrance was a very pungent disgusting stale cigarette smell. The receptionist was so miserable it wasn't, a very welcoming site. She gave us the impression she would rather be somewhere else. Having been told we had a rear room this immediately wound us up as we had requested a sea view. Having pushed a form In front of my nose and told me to check and gave us the look of" I've heard it all before just sign it". We went up to our room on the third floor in the tiny lift, which by the way hold onto your neck as boy does it set off with a jolt and stops with a thud. Dislocated neck or what ! On opening the door I was SHOCKED to see what a time warp this hotel was in...... 70.s style room with an advocado dirty bathroom suite OMG is an understatement. The bed had blankets on and not a duvet. I didn't know people still used blankets on beds. I dread to think what the other rooms where as this was in upgraded room........

WE booked this hotel as we where attending a party in the Lakeland suite, which to be fair wasn't bad. Because our party finished early we wasn't sure where to go ,so we went to go into the the hotel bar. After 10 mins we where asked to leave as there was a private function on and we weren't allowed in. When we challenged the hotel manager he said he was sorry but they book the ballroom every year.AS we weren't in the ballroom but in the bar why should we leave as we paid to use the hotel facilities as well.,but seen as we where the only two in the hotel who weren't with this group we weren't allowed to be in there as we where benefitting from listening to there music they had paid for. Absolutely disgusting, if this was the case why weren't we told about it when we booked? We where ushered into another room where there wasn't any music,bar etc and all that was in there was stacked table and chairs ........ Annoyed we went to our room.Boy we where sssooooooo MAD....... We left the hotel and went to see some friends who live a short distance away...... O n our return at about 11,45pm the music was blasting out, we asked how long the noise would be carrying on for and they said it would finish at 12pm..... This racket went on till 12,30am, By the time everybody had got to there rooms listening to creaking floorboards, paper thin walls and drunken people it was 1,35am before we got to get any sleep.

When we confronted the management the next morning, they did say that the duty manager and party representatives where out of order as we where in the bar and not the ballroom and they had only booked the ballroom. A half hearted apology was given but gave me the impression they weren't really bothered.

The breakfast wasn't up to anything special, bacon under cooked and fatty, sausage yuk, eggs not cooked on the top, cold toast delivered to your table and cheap smart price cereals....NOT GOOD.... Thank god no evening meal was booked.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody with high standards,as we have because it is sooooooooooo stuck in a time warp, tired and run down.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank caroledel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well - after my wonderful review in July 2012 we stayed again in August and had a completely different experience. We were greeted by the receptionist who acted like she couldn't be bothered with a 'fill this in' not even an hello. We were given the key then left to find it for ourselves. The room was OK but the bathroom need re-decorating and a complete change of bathroom suite.
When we went down for breakfast (with an hour to spare I might add) we didn't want any cereal so went straight for the Full English. Now on our first visit, the staff attended the table but this time it was a serve yourself from a hot counter. There was nothing left but two greasy slices of bacon and I mean nothing else! We asked a member of staff with an 'excuse me but there's no cooked breakfast items left' only to be answered with a 'what you want me to do about it!' We had to literally beg for toast which was thrown at us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank V8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we have just returned from this hotel ,we had an enjoyable stay the rooms were very clean ,just wish they provided small bars of soap and shower gel etc but that is a small niggle towels were changed every day so all in all very nice ,it was good to have serve your self breakfast a selection of bacon eggs sausage or black pudding one day we had hash browns beans and real tomatoes not tinned the staff were vey friendly and helpful (hotels down south please take note ) morecombe is a little jaded lots of charity shops !!! but aren,t all towns the same a few closed shops too all in all a nice brake if we ever went back to morecombe would stay there again

Room Tip: we had a sea view room which was over the functtion room so it was quite dont know about those on th...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,446 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headway Hotel

Address: Marine Road East | East Promenade, Morecambe LA4 5AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Headway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing