We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very welcoming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sea Lynn Guest House
Ranked #7 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

we had one night night here, 4 of us on motorbikes. lesley was very thoughtful and rang me in the morning to say it was raining there just in case we didnt want to come on the bikes. as soon as we arrived we were offered a cup of tea. the rooms were very clean and well maintained, the hotel is undergoing a overhall so some of the rooms are very nice, we had a peep in the others and some of the bathrooms are new too. it was a shame that the lounge was no longer there as after getting soaked through and freezing from walking through morecambe it would have been nice to sit infront of the fire with our friends for a warm. the breakfast was lovely and lesley bent over backwards to make the stay enjoyable. we had a good laugh at the random microwave on one of the landings though, perhaps you might want to make a jacket potato whilst your there. Morecambe doesnt have much going for it really, apart from a great chippy that lesley pointed us in the direction of. but this place is a great place to stay if your visiting, you will have a comfy bed, a clean room, good food and you will be looked after well by lesley and robert.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
thank you for posting a review, it was a pleasure to have you all stay. the lounge was moved due to it sitting night after night unused. We now have a small booking in / welcome room that guest are welcome to use any time they wish to. The 'random' microwave comment gave me a laugh, it is outside the family room to help parents heating up baby bottles / food but I see where your coming from!! Sorry you found Morecambe itself lacking for you, its not for everyone but glad we provided you with a clean & comfy stay, it would be lovely to welcome you all back, kind regards, Lesley & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    39
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
75
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Lynn on Saturday and Sunday, 9th and 10th October 2011. This is not our first stay and we will go back again and again. The welcome and service from Lesley and Rob cannot be bettered. The rooms are comfortable, newly decorated and always spotlessly clean. We were attending a wedding in Kendal for a friend who lives in Arnside and had a great weekend which included excellent accommodation and breakfast at The Sea Lynn. Stop seraching and book now :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
thank you & always a pleasure to have you here Dr Chris, come back soon, kind regards Lesley & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My family and I booked an overnight stay before going on to the IoM ferry from Heysham the next morning. Parking is a problem as the Sea Lynn is one of many guest houses and hotels in that street with no designated parking. We eventually parked in a nearby back-street and armed with our cases had to walk past groups of smoking eight year-olds, which made me worry for the safety of the car.
Once inside we received a warm welcome. There are no lifts (which wasn't a problem for us) and the rooms were a bit on the small side, but for an overnight stop this was fine. Both rooms had a smallish flat panel TV and a DVD player.
Eating out in the evening was a bit of a trek because the local chippy closed its eat-in service at about 7pm. We turned right onto the sea front and ended up at a "Fayre and Square" pub-restaurant called The Platform. (10 minutes' walk, past the big Polo tube.) Not gourmet food, but very reasonably priced pub grub and colossal portions.
Back at the Sea Lynn, a comfortable night's rest, and then a cooked breakfast. Very tasty if a little on the small side. (After last night's dinner at The Platform, that was probably a blessing!)
Before leaving Morecambe we walked back along the sea front, past The Platform to take some photos with Eric's statue. (About 20 minutes at strolling pace.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We visited Morcombe to attend a Wedding and required accomodation near to the venue. Morcombe is a small place with lots of accomodation to choose from. Why we chose the Sea Lynne... firstly the cost the rooms were on offer and seemed good value for money when looking at other places. We were right. The place was lovely, the owners were friendly and extremley helpful and made you feel at home immediatley. I had to email the owners prior to our visit to check in early as I was a Bridesmaid and they gave a swift reply advising they would acomodate my request no problem. Location is also great less than 2 minute walk to the sea front. Breakfast was great not greasy at all. *** just a note on the rooms, attic room is bigger than lower floor rooms, but the laughing seagulls are not great with a hangover in the morning, my friends stayed on lower floors and heard no seagulls so the choice is yours!!! *** I would definatley recommend this guest house and will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello Kimbo75, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were very pleased to help you on your request to have the rooms ready early. We are always aware at The Sea Lynn that guest will always have different needs and will do our best to meet your individual requirements. We are glad the wedding you were Bridesmaid at went well, you looked lovely. Thank you for staying with us and happy the Hotel met all your needs. lets hope you are in Morecambe again soon and we can welcome you back. Kind regards Lesley & Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

we stayed at the sea lynn in August 2011 for a one night stay. We were in Morcambe for A
friends 50th party. The owner Lesley was very friendly and made us feel at home. She greeted us and was there if we needed anything. We had a good hearty breakfast on Sunday morning before departing.
I would recommend this guest house

Room Tip: we had room 10 very comfy mattress slept like a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello Hairwizard. Oh Room 10, yes you are right, although we would like to point out that all the beds are very very comfortable that one is the best in the house! We purchase our goods as if they are intended for ourselves, hence only providing the very best in comfort. It was great to have you stay if only for a brief time but maybe next time we can strech it a bit! Glad the breakfast hit the spot!
Kind regards
Lesley & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was more than happy with my stay at the Sea Lynn. It was very clean and tidy staff was friendly and didnt bother us. The room i had was room only - no en-suite however there is en-suite rooms available (at an extra charge) and a communal bathroom with shower just down the hall,which was clean and i was happy to use. Towels were provided as you have a sink in the room. It was in an ideal location to the main strip and sea front. Oh and we didnt have breakfast so cant comment on the food. Walls are paper thin so can hear people coming and going in the morning.

Room Tip: Street parking available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello LaurenD, Thank you for reviewing us and leaving comments for us to respond to. We are very pleased you found the hotel clean & tidy, we do work tirelessly to ensure that all areas are kept exactly as you'd wish to find them. With regards to the 'Thin Walls' I don't think is as much that. You choose a lie in instead of breakfast but others were keenly making their way to the breakfast room possibly not as quietly as they could. We have learnt from this comment, thank you. In future if guests are skipping breakfast we will ensure as little 'traffic' passed their door as possible to allow for that well earned rest! Hopefully you will give it a try in the future.
Kind regards

Lesly & Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The heading says it all !! From our arrival to our departure we experience what we determine to be THE BEST. The welcome in itself makes us want to stay. On arrival we are asked if we wish tea, coffee or juice with biscuits. We chat whilst Rob takes our heavy as ever suitcases to our rooms, and with a smile - can't imagine why he's smiling with the weight of luggage !! Then it's our chance to smile - from the fabulously freshly cooked breakfast which I have also heard other guests remark on every morning, to the spotlessly clean rooms and so tastefully decorated. Lesley and Rob have also looked up the internet for travel or sightseeing information for us. Joe their son is also very helpful, and my grandson who is 6, thinks he's brill - they have their chats !! We have been going for 5 years. We have in the last 3 years extended our stay to 3 times a year, easter, summer and autumn. We are already booked. We stayed for 17 days holiday during July and August and have booked for October, so they can arrange 2 rooms cos' they are always fully booked - no wonder !! We are very close to all the main amenities - great places to eat, and see. The sunsets are the best ever, and a walk to Heysham village is a must, and a day of shopping and historical sightseeing in Lancaster is also a must. There is only one major complaint from us - the day we leave - I had to apologise to the taxi driver cos' we were all crying - the poor taxi driver must have been thinking "What's all the fuss?" Well, try the Sea Lynn for yourself, and you will soon see !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 551801Kyle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJP1960, Owner at The Sea Lynn Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello Kyle01. What would we do without your visits? We love having you here, We now have a great selection of lovely pictures of Kyle growing up year on year. We are still truely amazed that you keep coming back year after year and we are alway eager to see you all. We are already looking forward to the October visit. We count our selves lucky to have guests like you and shed our own tears when you leave.............................
See you all soon
Lesley & Rob
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 25 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#14 of 25 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#6 of 25 in Morecambe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Lynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Lynn Guest House

Property: The Sea Lynn Guest House
Address: 29 West End Road, Morecambe LA4 4DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sea Lynn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Guest House, comfortable and homely, Breakfast is prepared fresh to order from a varied menu using the finest ingredient including free-range eggs. With stunning views and sunsets from the guest lounge or a very relaxing short stroll away. Easily reached is the beautiful village of Heysham, ferry port with departure for Ireland & Isle of Man. Close by is Lancaster, The Lake District, Forest of Bowland. Minutes from Rail and motorway links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sea Lynn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing