We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Balmoral Guest House
Ranked #5 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

September 2013. First class once again. Nothing has changed. Staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast cooked to order. Lee and Rob, just keep doing what you are doing and no-one should have any complaints and thank you once again for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    46
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
141
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for a week in early September and the whole experience was first class. Rob and Lee and the entire staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotless. Breakfast was delicious and I will recommend it to anyone going to Morecambe. Thank you to all. Terina Fay, Connecticut, USA formerly of Morecambe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loftus, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our third stay was as good as the first! Rob and Lee are very helpful and so friendly, the staff equally so. The rooms always spick and span, a good selection at breakfast time, cooked to perfection. Brilliant views from rooms overlooking the prom, the only downside was traffic noise starting at 6.00am despite the double glazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night Aug bank hol wish we could have stayed longer (my wife my self and 5 year old grandson) Lee and Rob make you feel very welcome and are very good company we had a great evening sat at the bar with them along with fellow guest David(our entertainment for the evening) the room was spotless and well presented breakfast was excellent we would definiitely stay here again thank you lads

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jqueen1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night before our way of the roses ride. To be fair we don't stay at many b&b so don't have much to compare with other than the 3 others we stayed at on our trip. The room was small but clean and adequate for what we needed. The mattress on the bed wasn't very comfortable at all though, I know everyone has different preferences but when you sat on the bed the whole mattress dipped (and I don't weigh 30 stone just in case you were thinking!) so I woke up with a stiff back and neck, just what you need before a long cycle. Other than that breakfast was ok and staff friendly. Only real complaint was husband's bike had big scratch on it when it was brought round to us from overnight storage, looked like had been done with pedal from other bike.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RexJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalmoralMorecambe, Manager at The Balmoral Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi RexJS, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that everything didn't meet with your expectations. We really do try to please everyone but as you have stated yourself, everyone has different preferences and do feel that the mattress comment is a little exagerated. I have looked at and checked the mattress and also checked with other guests that have slept in this room since your stay and no complaints have been brought to our attention. With regards your husbands bike, we are sorry again that it had been scratched but must clear up this matter as we are no way responsilbe for this. The moving of your bikes to the rear of our guesthouse and brought round the front the following day was done by your trip organisrer, we only offer secure storage so feel that you must take this up with your trip organiser and The Balmoral Guest House is in no way to blame. Many thanks,

Rob & Lee (Managers)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great views over the bay, if there is a nice sunset you couldn't have a better location to watch the sunset over the bay, and the spectacular view across to the Lakeland hills. Nice rooms, with comfy bed, nice bed linen and a cracking breakfast. Got a very warm welcome on arrival, so all in all everything was good. A good place to stay in Morecambe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our overnight before starting the way of the roses 170 miles Morecambe to Bridlington and we could not have chosen better ,the whole place was spotlessly clean and well maintained.Lee and Rob are very friendly make you feel at home and look after everything you need.The breakfast was superb and again nothing was to much trouble,the 5 star food rating is thoroughly deserved .My friends and myself would NOT have to think twice about about paying a return visit and if you fancy The Way of the Roses this is the ideal way to start it off .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Guest House

Property: The Balmoral Guest House
Address: 34 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is open all year round and well established and family run, offering excellent cuisine and comfort; and is ideally located for all the amenities of the resort. The guest house is tastefully furnished throughout, with installed double glazing. The thirteen bedrooms comprise of single, twin, double and family rooms; all have tea-making facilities and also have shaver points. Most bedrooms are available with a shower and toilet en-suite. Of course guests have access to our guest house at all times - there are no restrictions. Bedroom and front door keys are supplied to guests upon arrival. Our breakfasts are cooked fresh and within the guest house; and are given compliments on a daily basis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Balmoral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing