We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Balmoral Guest House
Ranked #6 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Look No Further”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lovely Guest House,in a quiet area but short walk to main shops etc, well run by Lee & Rob two super guys plus the other great staff.
Breakfast 100% perfect with plenty of toast to follow. We look forward to our return.
Very Clean Lounge with a huge leather suite. If you are an asthmatic phone ahead and they will ensure the room is as clear as is possible of any irritants (air fresheners) also the linen is almost chemical free which is/was great for myself.
Go into the town centre if you like Live Music in pubs.
Don't waste your time searching you have found your accommodation!
Thanks... Allan & Christine. (Wigan)

Room Tip: We had one of the top sea-view rooms, about 40 steps up but worth it for the room & view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CABar_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    45
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
139
40
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Management were very accommodating about us late date changing.
Our 1st visit to Morecambe (in terrible weather) but still a great visit. Great location just out of the busy area. No noise at night from outside or from within. Fantastic views from our bay window. Decor and furnishings were a little dated but functional and clean. Great traditional breakfast. Friendly staff. Only negative is parking, we were fine as road parking out of season but at high season a 2 min walk to a car park may be required. Otherwise a faultless stay.
We are in our 50's and we found this a comfortable traditional B&B stay and we hope to revisit again soon.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollipoplyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My daughter and I booked a 'groupon deal' here and were not expecting a great deal. How wrong we were! It was warm , cosy, friendly and beyond expectations. We had a twin room on 2nd floor, it was at the back of hotel so we missed out on a sea view but not all rooms can be at the front. The beds were comfy,the room clean and tidy and a hair dryer was supplied for the fashion conscious daughter.The shower/toilet area made us laugh as it looked as though you were entering a wardrobe (minus Aslan ) The staff were friendly,helpful and nothing was too much bother. The breakfast was piping hot and delicious. On the saturday night we spent over an hour in the lounge, reading and chatting.There was a bar in the dining room that could have been used but we couldnt be bothered to move. The B+B is situated on the sea front, parking no problem. We used it as a base to explore Morecambe (and find Eric ), Heysham, Lancaster and the Lakes We will definately use the Balmoral again and would recommend it for anyone who wants to visit the Lakes - just 30-40 mins away. Thank you for the weekend.

Room Tip: no lift so not ideal for elderly unless a ground floor room available ...but even then the dining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11doof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This has got to rank as one of the best guest houses i have stayed in. The interior in all of the rooms is just what you expect from a seaside bnb, a lovely homely feel throughout, very well kept and clean.
On arrival you walk into a welcoming lobby with fresh flowers always on display. To you right is a lovely warm lounge, perfect for relaxing in at night or in the morning looking our over the bay, with excellent views.
Me and my partner have stayed time and time again. The staff are all so welcoming, polite and willing to help. The breakfast is lovely and at night the dinning rooms doubles up as a cosy bar with all the drink you would get in a regular bar.
The service is second to none, in an excellent location with ample parking right outside the door. Close to all ameneties and of course the bay, your right in the heart of morecambe bay.

Also for the bird twitchers and kids there are binoculars to have a hi defenition peak across to the lakes, and have funa and games trying to name all the birds.

The hotel also provides plenty of leaflets with ideas for days out, great for couples and families, and the staff are always willing to reccommend a place to go and offer directions....

OVERALL A GREAT PLACE TO STAY :)
WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!
Tony Finch (manchester)

Room Tip: Room 6 is perfect for couples, large and spacious with a great seating area in the bay window, to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we really must say a big thank you to our hosts and staff, you really cant fault them for service, quailty of the food, the size of the rooms, nothing was too much for them, an excellent place to stay, a spectaular view across the bay, easy access for parking, travelling to local areas, my wife and i really enjoyed our stay and would recomend the balmoral as the place to stay. a big thank you to you all.

Room Tip: room 6, excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boss_hog018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Once again, had an amazing weekend with Lee and Rob and also my partner and family and friends. Having completed my first mystery murder too! Brilliant cosey rooms with excellent sea front rooms. Arrived home today but didn't want to leave, the minute you enter you just don't want to say bye to the amazing guest house. Excellent food (Breakfast) which I couldn't resist not having it, everything morning. Had a lovely past few days and planning for my next visit. See you again soon!

Room Tip: Want to be by the sea, the Balmoral Hotel is the ultimate place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just had a lovely two days(feb 2013) staying at the balmoral. The rooms were very nicely decorated, warm and spotlessly clean. The bedding was crisp and fresh and we had a lovely sea view. We had breakfast both days and the service was very good as was the food. freshly cooked breakfast to order. We met Rob on arrival who was very welcoming. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Top floors obviously have lots of stairs to get there, but worth the view if you can manage them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Guest House

Property: The Balmoral Guest House
Address: 34 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is open all year round and well established and family run, offering excellent cuisine and comfort; and is ideally located for all the amenities of the resort. The guest house is tastefully furnished throughout, with installed double glazing. The thirteen bedrooms comprise of single, twin, double and family rooms; all have tea-making facilities and also have shaver points. Most bedrooms are available with a shower and toilet en-suite. Of course guests have access to our guest house at all times - there are no restrictions. Bedroom and front door keys are supplied to guests upon arrival. Our breakfasts are cooked fresh and within the guest house; and are given compliments on a daily basis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Balmoral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing