We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art Deco Hote”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Art Deco Hote”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to the fab Midland Hotel.
This beautiful hotel is a feast for the eye, with quirky features in the bedrooms you will never be bored. Sympathetic music played in the public areas- all of the art deco period. Staff are friendly and attentive and anwer questions regarding the hotel with sound knowlege. The food is great with a good choice of menu. It is hard to decide which to choose but do try the cheeseboard..Magnificent sea views from the restaurant. Will be booking again soon

Room Tip: We stayled in room 201 on the 2 visits we made
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear susan a

Thank you for a very positive review of your second stay.
I hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    523
    134
    58
    38
See reviews for
335
1,462
56
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a beautiful, unique and memorable hotel. The views over the sea from the bars, restaurant and our room were absolutely magnificent. We sat in the Rotunda Bar in the window sipping cocktails and watching the sun set. Perfect. The staff seem genuinely proud of the hotel and several of them told us about its illustrious history. Our room was quirky (a hidden toilet - wait and see!) chic, tasteful decor and a comfy bed. I will never forget watching the sun set from our balcony and bird watching with the binoculars thoughtfully provided by the hotel in our room.
When you walk in through the imposing entrance, look up and admire the Art Deco decoration and the wonderful sweeping staircase. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but had a really excellent breakfast there. We had watched this hotel decline over the years and sit empty and forgotten. It's a real joy to see it so sympathetically restored and back to its former glory. We felt like 1930's film stars staying here. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view room or you'll be overlooking the car park. We were in room 220 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear merle1

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review and photos of your recent stay here at The Midland.
I was pleased to see that you were able to enjoy one of our famous sunsets!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermont, France
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We'll placed in front of sea bay next to a small marina
Comfortable large rooms and bathroom
Art Deco architecture
Sweet jazzy ambiance
Very good food at restaurant freshly cooked. Famous sticky taffy pudding.
Friendly bar

Room Tip: Ask for front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear AlainVinciguerra

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Midland.
I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Second stay here - just as good as the first - really quirky well laid out rooms. More than this the food is good and the atmosphere excellent. In the summer you get to laze outside with a drink, and in the winter you get to sleep with waves crashing on the shore in the background.

Room Tip: Always go for the sea view- the extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear mark w

Many thanks for a very posiitve review of your second stay at The Midland - I was pleased to read that this was just as enjoyable as your first.
I hope to welcome you back for a third visit very soon!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

another super stay at the Midland, staff are always welcoming and warm,
room quirky and well planned, food really excellent dinner and breakfast,
not sure which wine to choose, so I was offered a taster to see if it met our criteria, wonderful ambience, hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear gillytia

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review of your most recent stay at The Midland.
I was pleased to read that this was enjoyable and that we will hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just to saw what a wonderful time we had at our Son's Wedding, At the Midland Hotel Morecambe The whole day was made perfect by the attention of the staff, The Reception, the Waitresses, and everybody else involved at the Midland.

Room Tip: Higher Room have less A?C un it noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear frances u

Many thanks for a great review of your son's wedding last Thursday.
I was delighted to read that this special day was enjoyable and will, of course, share your kind comments with the team here at The Midland.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and again recently - it was as good second time round.

Great building which has been lovingly restored. Right on the seafront so views of Morecambe Bay are great from rooms on that side. Rooms are a good size, well equipped and comfortable. Ensuites are rather good too - I had a big bath, walk in shower and the toilet is hidden away behind the bathroom door.

Didn't eat in the restaurant this time but it was really good the last time I stayed. Breakfast was good with a large choice and great service.

I would always stay here when in the area so hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Sea side of the hotel - with a balcony in summer, if it's nice. They're a bit more pricy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#4 of 10 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.5 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing