We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stay”
Review of The Westleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westleigh
Ranked #19 of 25 Morecambe B&B and Inns
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a one night stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a pretty basic b&b with basic amenities. Great in that it's on the front, but it's old and shabby and in need of some serious tlc. Breakfast was extremely basic with the cheapest sausages I think I've ever tasted. But if you're just staying one night then it's not too bad. Whoever did the photographs for this place did a good job as it conned me into thinking the standard was much higher.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
11
28
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashcott,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Made to feel welcome. Excellent full English breakfast. Lovely position on front with views to mountains and free parking outside on road. Room 1 bathroom is minute so go for bigger room if this would bother you. For a 1 night stop over it was ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Never again to be honest. I was performing in Morecambe and knowing what a run down place the town is I wanted to book somewhere in advance to save me from taking a chance on some of the less salubrious B&B's
The Landlady rang me and asked what time I'd be arriving yet when I did turn up she advised me that I should put the heating on in my room. Why wasn't this done in advance of my arrival?
My room ( 7 ) was gloomy and freezing. A double bed and two bunk beds shoved against the the plain ( apart from he peeling wallpaper ) walls.
There is a bizarre heating system in the bathroom where you press the button on the outside wall and it turns a fan heater on for 30 seconds. It's impossible to switch back on whilst you're having a shower. The shower was luke warm and pathetically slow, added to a cold bathroom and freezing bedroom it made for an uncomfortable few minutes.
I'd turned the radiator on and when I returned after work the room was still icy cold. I ended up sleeping in a T shirt and socks.
The Westleigh is tired and in need of a lot of refurbishment and also a bit of love and affection from it's owner, a bit like Morecambe itself.
Hopefully I'll not set eyes on this hotel again it's a disgrace to the profession. Do they ever watch "Four in a Bed"?
Mark Rough - Comedian

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morecambe hotels

Totton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here overnight on the weekend with four overs (dad-single room, 2 friends-twin room & me+partner-double) all the rooms were reasonably decorated, had comfy beds and were very clean! I couldn't believe the bathroom, it was spotless!!

I booked through a cheap hotels website and our booking was messed up but the very friendly landlady handled it very well abduction sorted it all out (with no fuss!) she was also very helpful with pointing out good restaurants and pubs for us to visit in morecambe town centre. Very helpful when you don't know the area at all.

We then went up to our rooms (quite a trek up to the top floor) they were all neutrally decorated with modern furniture and a small tv. however our double room the floor was very squeaky, so much so the wardrobe doors rattled when you walked past! The bed was also very noisy - I assured my other half we'd be doing nothing but sleeping in that room!!

Although you couldn't hear people when they were in their rooms you could hear them in the corridor & with the amount of pubs in morecambe I can imagine quite a few residents could come back intoxicated so it would be quite noisy in the summer.

I had an absolutely wonderful nights sleep in the bed!! Absolutely no complaints.

The next morning I had a shower, there are clear instructions on how to get the it to work effectively and I followed them and again had no complaints, one of my male friends did not follow them and he suffered for it so I would strongly advise you do!

The breakfast was nice - but nothing too inspiring but becareful with the sugar shakers, it comes out quick!!

The hotel is right on the seafront and we had a lovely sea view, its worth requesting this if you plan to look out of the window at all because the view from the rooms at the rear of the building are not very nice at all!

All in all I had a fantastic stay in The Westleigh & if I ever go back to morecambe this is definitely where I would plan to stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve as we were having a night out in Morecambe and watching the football the day after. Hotel quite basic to be honest and tired furnishings. But as we didn't spend much time there it didn't really matter. We got a cheap room for the night and the bed was comfy enough. Room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiebav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for one night last week, booked last minute as I was coming over from the Isle of Man and didn't like the look of the weather forecast for the morning I was due to travel so decided to get off the rock the night before! For £27 I wasn't expecting The Ritz - I got pretty much what I expected, a rather tired looking guest house that needs a fair bit of updating. I'd requested a late check in and the proprietor met me on arrival which was appreciated. My room ( a single) was long and narrow and had some nasty woodchip wallpaper and some dubious plastering, however it was very clean and the bedlinen smelt lovely and fresh. The bathroom was, also, a bit dated and tired looking but again was spotlessly clean and had a good supply of hot water for a shower so I had no complaints. There was a generous hospitality tray and the bed was comfy - the room was based at the back of the building so had no view but unfortunately the curtain was very thin and let a lot of light in which disrupted my sleep. I couldn't get the tv to work though, it only found 2 stations and counted down from 30 to 0 at which point it switched itself off!! - wasn't really a problem as I was only there overnight, but possibly may be for guests who stay longer. There was WIFI in the room , free of charge. Breakfast the next morning was served by a very nice friendly lady, and I enjoyed my poached egg which was cooked well. It was served on white toast - I'd have preferred a choice as I don't usually eat white bread - so it may be worth asking for wholemeal bread in advance. All in all, a comfortable overnight stop which offered good value for money. I'd definitely go back for another overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was clean and the landlady was very friendly and made us feel really welcome. The rooms were basic but clean and had everything we needed, the breakfast was nice, the dining room clean. I would recommend and will definitely stay here again. Spot on, great value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
1.1 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 25 in Morecambe
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleigh

Property: The Westleigh
Address: 9 Marine Road West, Morecambe LA3 1BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleigh overlooks Morecambe's fine promenade and the Lakeland hills. All rooms are en-suite and include TV with up to 30 channels, free Wi-fi internet and tea/coffee making facilities. Rated 3* Guest Accommodation by Visit Britain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Westleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing